Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used ground cinnamon instead of sticks, I added a tin of tomatoes and some fresh spinach that cooked down. It was so delicious and tasted very authentic. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I LOVE Indian food. Its my favorite food and I have been making Chana Masala myself with my own recipe for a few years now. I thought I would try somebody else's recipe. Honestly, this was not good and I thought it would have to be better than mine as so many people have reviewed it with good remarks. I will say the flavors are ok, but standard. The real problem is its too dry. There are no tomatoes in the recipe which you usually find in Chana Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great, tasty--perfect to satisfy your Indian cuisine cravings...just a few tips to share: if you're using dry chicpeas, you'll probably need to double your spices if you end up with a lot more than the equivalent of two cans as called for in the recipe...also, add that cayenne a half tsp at a tiime, or else you'll have a runny nose while you're eating this, 1-2 tsp of a good cayenne can knock your sinuses right out...if this does happen, as it did to me, add a half can of lite coconut milk, this helped...a bit. And DEFINITELY add a can of diced tomatoes in place of the liquid from your canned beans...it adds to the flavor and consistency...and it's still great and yummy even if you're out of tumeric or don't like coriander, instead add a dash of curry powder...That's about it, with a dash of salt...yum, yum, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
combination of spices is sublime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I would cut back on the heat a little. Also, we didn't have coriander, so we used curry powder. It was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I love the complexity of the flavors in this recipe! It's easy to prepare and tastes super authentic. As per some other reviews I left the liquid from the beans out and simply pureed some of the chickpeas. Serving it up with a dollop of plain yogurt was a hit with the vegetarian colleagues that I made it for and controlled the spice levels for those who's tastes preferred a milder option. Thank you for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this with double the seasonings and a can of diced,drained tomatos as recommended by others. I simmered the beans longer hoping they would absord more of the flavors, but it didn't do it as much as I'd hope. This dish was good nevertheless. However, the day after - this dish is awesome. It really taste great the following day once everything has had time to meld together. This was noted by many other commentors and I have to totally agree. I will make this recipe again, however next time, I will make a day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this a few weeks ago for the family. Everyone loved it! I served it over quinoa and it was super tasty! The spice mixture was PERFECT! One can alter the cilantro or chili content for individual taste and it will still create a lovely dish. I am making this again for tomorrow's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe was great and easy to make. I made a large batch and served over brown rice. The leftovers were just as delicious. I can't handle cilantro so I omitted it - the curry was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is pretty good! I made a smaller batch for myself since I'm the only one home for lunch this afternoon. I agree that this recipe needs some veggies--I'd definitely add a can of diced tomatoes next time, and maybe add some garam masala to it, but otherwise I find it delicious. Very easy and quick too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States