Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
outstanding recipe - I added a tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I am on the South Beach diet and as near as I can figure this totally fits even in phase 1. It is so tasty and satisfying that it really helps as one of my diet staples :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This dish was amazing. Made it into the recipe box in my kitchen. I did have to add chicken b/c my husband freaked a little when I said I was going to make it. But I just sauted the onion, garlic, and I added a little red pepper. Then added the chicken and slow cooked it, and followed the rest of the recipe. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Good basic recipe that lends itself to all sorts of variations. My husband does not like chickpeas, but he asked for seconds. I used beans I had soaked and pre-cooked, and added a few scraps of turkey and some sweet corn, but it would have been good even without the additions, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This makes the kitchen smell like an Indian restaurant. While the onion is cooking, I measure out all the spices into a small bowl to add all at once. I use crushed ginger root and ground cinnamon and add a can of petite diced tomatoes. Also I drain the bean juice and sub in water. This is a simple cheap meal and once you have all the spices together it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used ground cinnamon instead of sticks, I added a tin of tomatoes and some fresh spinach that cooked down. It was so delicious and tasted very authentic. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I LOVE Indian food. Its my favorite food and I have been making Chana Masala myself with my own recipe for a few years now. I thought I would try somebody else's recipe. Honestly, this was not good and I thought it would have to be better than mine as so many people have reviewed it with good remarks. I will say the flavors are ok, but standard. The real problem is its too dry. There are no tomatoes in the recipe which you usually find in Chana Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great, tasty--perfect to satisfy your Indian cuisine cravings...just a few tips to share: if you're using dry chicpeas, you'll probably need to double your spices if you end up with a lot more than the equivalent of two cans as called for in the recipe...also, add that cayenne a half tsp at a tiime, or else you'll have a runny nose while you're eating this, 1-2 tsp of a good cayenne can knock your sinuses right out...if this does happen, as it did to me, add a half can of lite coconut milk, this helped...a bit. And DEFINITELY add a can of diced tomatoes in place of the liquid from your canned beans...it adds to the flavor and consistency...and it's still great and yummy even if you're out of tumeric or don't like coriander, instead add a dash of curry powder...That's about it, with a dash of salt...yum, yum, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
combination of spices is sublime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I would cut back on the heat a little. Also, we didn't have coriander, so we used curry powder. It was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States