Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
decent i guess. a dry curry- not a liquid chickpea curry like i have had at restaurants. be aware it's quite spicy. i added only 1/4 tsp cayenne. used 1 tsp ground cinn & 1/4 tsp ground cloves. added a can of diced tomatoes as suggested by other reviewers. it was definitely edible, but not as good as I had hoped. this recipe has gotten such rave reviews. i was disappointed. this is a good base recipe but not quite what i was looking for i guess.. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out really well. I modified a few things based on the suggestions from the reviews such as adding tomatoes, adding some curry powder, and using half the cayenne (it was still spicy, but much more tolerable for my taste). I let it simmer for about 20 minutes so the chickpeas would be really tender and the liquid could reduce and thicken a bit and then I thickened it a little bit further using a cornstarch slurry so the sauce wouldn't be so watery. As a few others suggested, I prepared the chickpeas tonight to be served tomorrow. If it's yummy today, it will be awesome tomorrow. If you like exotic spices and flavors, then you should definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I make this close to once a week and it's easily my favorite dinner. I use 1 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves as other reviewers had mentioned. I usually leave out the cayenne for my 4 year old and will add it at the end on my plate only. Also add a can of diced tomatoes. I keep some ginger in my freezer just for this recipe. It's pretty cheap and keeps forever in the freezer. Thanks to Alton Brown for that tip. This is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious. I doubled this recipe, maybe added a little extra cilantro, and added ground cinnamon and cloves instead of whole (1 tsp of each). It turned out the perfect spice level for people who like spice. Beautiful over rice. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
outstanding recipe - I added a tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I am on the South Beach diet and as near as I can figure this totally fits even in phase 1. It is so tasty and satisfying that it really helps as one of my diet staples :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This dish was amazing. Made it into the recipe box in my kitchen. I did have to add chicken b/c my husband freaked a little when I said I was going to make it. But I just sauted the onion, garlic, and I added a little red pepper. Then added the chicken and slow cooked it, and followed the rest of the recipe. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Good basic recipe that lends itself to all sorts of variations. My husband does not like chickpeas, but he asked for seconds. I used beans I had soaked and pre-cooked, and added a few scraps of turkey and some sweet corn, but it would have been good even without the additions, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This makes the kitchen smell like an Indian restaurant. While the onion is cooking, I measure out all the spices into a small bowl to add all at once. I use crushed ginger root and ground cinnamon and add a can of petite diced tomatoes. Also I drain the bean juice and sub in water. This is a simple cheap meal and once you have all the spices together it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States