Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We really enjoyed this! I used 2 tsp of garlic ginger paste and a little bit of dried, minced garlic. I also substituted ground spices for the cinnamon and clove. I rinsed the two cans of chickpeas and added a whole can of diced tomatoes! Honestly, this recipe can call for two cans. We added one large chopped potato. Also, I threw everything into a slow cooker and came home to a beautiful aroma. Next time I think I'll add cauliflower and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The was awesome!! We added more spices, and chicken. It was so good and do spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My family and I loved this recipe. Substituted ground cinnamon and doubled the seasoning measurements for some extra pow! Will try adding potatoes next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Dowdy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very quick & easy recipe. If you have a stocked spice rack already then this one probably won't cost you more than $10 and it'll last for four-five meals :) Highly recommend, I liked the slight kick it had too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Dowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BIBI LIT
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Gave this recipe a try last night, and I am very pleased. I made it for my mother. I drained most of the canned chick peas liquid. From both cans total, I'd say that I only used about 1 cup of liquid. I did this to cut back on sodium. I also used 1- 1 1/2 tablespoons of curry instead of turmeric. I used one dash of cayenne pepper. And I also added fresh cherry tomatoes into this dish. And I didn't use an coriander or salt. Recipe was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIBI LIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was great! I used canned chick peas and included the water from the can in the recipe. I may use veggie or chicken broth next time. Used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon as I did not have the sticks. Cut the cloves down to 4 as I don't really like them and cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon because I'm a wimp. I didn't use quite as much cilantro and used dried as that was all I had on hand. The flavor that resulted was wonderful meld of a sweet cinnamon start with a peppery bite at the end. My husband, who specifically hates chick peas, was savoring these one by one. I served it with the Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala and chipotle lime rice here on the site. Possibly the best dinner that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I make Indian food a lot and I have been looking for a simpler chickpea recipe than the one I have been using for years. The ratings and reviews seemed to suggest this was the one. I was a bit disappointed. It was lacking in a some flavor. When reading over the recipe, I was surprised at the lack of tomatoes, and also the large amount of turmeric (cilantro as well, which I love but as many do not, I have been in the habit of just putting some in my bowl instead of the whole dish). Still, I thought I would make it as the recipe states first to try it. I was surprised to see that the onions were only to be briefly cooked before tossing in the chickpeas and liquid. This leaves the onions crunchy and undercooked. To those attempting this recipe, cook the onions more thoroughly before adding any liquid. These kinds of recipes should also be allowed to simmer for a while (around 30 min) to let the flavors permeate everything. If you are using 2 onions, make sure they are on the smaller side. Mine were large so I just used 1 1/2 and there were still probably more onions than chickpeas. Use half the turmeric or less. As the end result was a bit lackluster, I had to add a few things: a can of tomatoes which I pureed, extra ginger and garlic, garam masala, and ground cinnamon. I also mashed some of the chickpeas with a fork to thicken the sauce. Another thing is I used dried chickpeas which I cooked earlier. Along with some of the liquid, I put in some chicken bullion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is a a easy, quick recipe but I found it to be on the bland side. I'm used to Indian food so maybe I just need more spices in my food - that is a very individual aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This made my house smell AMAZING. Modifications: drained the chickpeas, doubled the spices (used 2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of sticks) except the cayenne pepper, which I reduced to 1/2 tsp, and reduced the cilantro to ~1/2 cup. Additions: 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, a handful each of kale, frozen peas, and cauliflower, and a diced boiled potato (added in the last few minutes). I simmered everything together for about 40 minutes and periodically added splashes of chicken broth to prevent things from getting too dry. I used a wide saucepan (kind of like a half-stockpot); a frying pan would not be tall enough to contain all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States