Chicken with a Creamy Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I admit I started with the basics of this recipe but based on the previous reviews made a few changes. First, I was making this dish for two so some adjustments were due to that. My approach: Used 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I pounded them to about 1/4" thickness. Before I dredged them in flour, I seasoned the flour with salt, black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and paprika. I didn't measure but seasoned until the flour had a good flavor. I fried the chicken in 1T olive oil and 1T unsalted butter. As another reviewer did, I removed the chicken and then I added 1/2 medium diced onion, 2 cloves minced garlic to the remaining oil and butter - I added a 1tsp of olive oil. Cook onion and garlic for 2-3 minutes then added 5 oz sliced mushrooms. Cook for another 2-3 minutes and then added 2/3 cup of marsala and 2/3 cup chicken stock. Let it simmer for about 5 minutes then I added back the chicken and let it simmer another 10 minutes, then I slowly added 1/2 cup of cream with 1/2 tsp ground mustard. After a few minutes, taste the sauce - I added about 1/4 tsp salt and a 1T marsala. Let the sauce reduce by 1/3 or so. I served over whole wheat penne. This approach came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myranda
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Loved this! Family said to, "add it to the keepers!" I followed the recipe (doubled it for our large family) except I added mushrooms! I will definitely makes this again! Favorite from age 2 to 77 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this tonight because we just wanted something different. I made a few changes based on what we had available in the house - Pino grigio rather than Marsala wine and crushed garlic in place of ground mustard. I added mushrooms and served with fettuccine and it was delicious, just the change of pace we were looking for. I think maybe those reviewers who said they used half and half and didn't love the sauce might want to try again with heavy cream. The wine and stock in the recipe are so light that you really won't be able to get a rich sauce consistency or flavor with half and half. Just a thought! Thank-you for the yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
All 6 of us here loved it, not a common occurrence. Very easy to make, great flavor. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Eh, not enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made this recipe and my family loved it. I made the following additions/changes. Added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 teas. chicken seasoning, 1 teas. parsley and used half & half instead of heavy cream. Next time I will add fresh mushrooms. This is going in my favorites recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Less cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was definitely delicious!! I used half and half instead of whipping cream and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe was very delicious and somewhat easy to make. I followed the recipe up until it was time to add the wine. I cook the chicken as directed, did that in batches. Then I put all the cooked chicken on a plate and followed the wine, broth, cream mix in the order listed on the recipe. Once the sauce was mix and creamy, I put the chicken back into the skillet. Very rich, but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Thoensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States