Chicken with White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
So I did not have shallots or thyme--fresh or dried. I used Italian seasoning (ground in my palm) and garlic and onion powders instead. I only made two chicken breasts, but made the whole of the sauce. I only had maybe a third of the sauce left over, though I may have reduced it too much while waiting for my rice. I DID have the concentrated broth though, which I am sure added a TON of flavor! I did find it a bit salty, but I kind of like that sometimes. My husband was very pleased with this as well, and it is now in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Yo, i made this. Errrbady loved it. Just make it. Very Savory and pungent. The wine is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Loved this, but I can't leave well enough alone. My variations: 1. Fresh thyme bundle, chopped fresh oregano, 2 bay leaves, and 2 garlic cloves as my flavor base 2. Reduced Sodium Better than Bullion so I could control the salt content 3. Dredged raw chicken in flour, onion powder, pepper, light salt to give it a nice browning when it cooked 4. Finished sauce with some unsalted butter - cuts the acid of the wine and smooths out the sauce 5. Threw in angel hair pasta and miscellaneous cooked veggies at the end (I just thawed some frozen faves). I also stretched the sauce a bit with some pasta water. These little flourishes did not really add much time to the cooking and they resulted in a really nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe as written. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce was waaaayyyy too salty to eat and the chicken was bland and tasteless. I will not be making this again, with or without alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tink517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Easy and tastes complicated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a nice recipe . I didn't have any flavour boost so I used about a half box of Campbells Stock First , had to let it simmer longer . But I think that was a good thing , the chicken took on even more flavour . Only other changes I used dried thyme and used 2 shallots ( 1 I put in with the chicken while it browned up ). Of course I added salt & pepper . This is a great recipe because it would change to whatever type of wine you used . Might even try this with some rosemary added to it .Served with mashed potatoes & string beans . The only thing I would say to people who don't like the taste of wine you might want to try another recipe . Or maybe use chicken stock instead of wine .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Easy cheap and very flavorful. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe. I cooked fresh sliced mushrooms with the shallots. I didn't have the Swanson broth so I used chicken stock. I added a little corn starch to thicken the broth and white wine sauce and served it with rice pilaf. Fast, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
A similar recipe is a family favorite. Flour chicken pieces and brown in margarine or butter. Pour on low sodium chicken broth (homemade if u have it) and white wine. Add to taste dry fines herbs, parsley, and garlic powder. Simmer til cooked. Never tried the shallots but probably wouldn't hurt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States