Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this when I got tomatilloes in my CSA (farm delivery) box and didn't know what to do with them. A great, tasty supper dish! I did add a serrano pepper as suggested, for extra kick. It was tangy and flavorful, the flour coating helped the chicken to retain just a bit of crispness as well as giving the sauce body. I served this with black beans and cornbread. Yum! A keeper. For the peppers: Put charred peppers into a Ziploc and close, allow to cool, and then peel off the skins. This steams the peppers and allows the skins to come off more easily. The oven roasting was great, though if you have a gas stove you can also char them directly on the burner. The roasting adds nice depth to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I will definitely be making this one again! I don't know if my produce was "larger" than intended in the recipe, but I needed almost double the chicken broth and a LARGE saucepan. Note to those who have not charred and removed skins from peppers before...allow extra time - as it's not easy (I found out the hard way) but it is definitely worth the effort to get at least SOME of the skins off. (Plus the roasted peppers add an extra dimension to the dish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe Suzanne! I made it for dinner last night and my husband loved it! He couldn't stop raving about how great it turned out. I did make a few modifications. I added some additional chicken broth it to give it enough juice to simmer in. I also added some lime to add some additional flavor. I will definitely be adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My oh my, was this delicious! Simply perfect dish! Smells great, looks pretty and tastes so good you'll thank yourself for making this! I used a variety of peppers, poblano, jalapeno, and yellow and orange bell peppers. I almost took a short cut and was just going to chop and saute them, but I'm so glad I adhered to the recipe and roasted them first, which didn't require much more effort. The skins slipped off easily, and I think roasting the peppers contributed depth of flavor. I didn't bother with the green onion, as I found the regular onion sufficient. Once I combined the sauteed chicken with the pepper mixture I found that simmering that mixture 10-15 minutes was enough to cook the chicken. I believe 25 minutes would have made it overcooked and quite probably dry and chewy. Half the amount of cilantro was perfect for hubs and me, but that is a matter of personal taste buds. For added richness I swirled in a little butter at the end. I served this over white rice with a side of "Black Beans with Bacon," also from this site. I am really surprised that as I write this only 17 other people have reviewed it. I hope this review will encourage more cooks to give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
A little bit of work, but worth it! I will definetly keep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is a very colorful and SPICY dish. I also loved the salsa, which had a thick, yet smooth consistency. Although I enjoy spicy dishes, I think next time I will reduce the amount of chiles or seed them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This is a new favorite recipe. Tastes wonderful. Tastes great with black beans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We loved this recipe. I think next time I will roast the peppers under the broiler (5 minutes) and then put them in a paper bag to steam for a few minutes. I like the idea of adding black beans and think I will do that next time. I will definately be adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was very good, it was my first time cooking with tomatillos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this one. I'm not into real spicy stuff, so I cut down on the Anaheim and it turned out great. Made this with the mexican rice recipe which complimented this nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States