Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My oh my, was this delicious! Simply perfect dish! Smells great, looks pretty and tastes so good you'll thank yourself for making this! I used a variety of peppers, poblano, jalapeno, and yellow and orange bell peppers. I almost took a short cut and was just going to chop and saute them, but I'm so glad I adhered to the recipe and roasted them first, which didn't require much more effort. The skins slipped off easily, and I think roasting the peppers contributed depth of flavor. I didn't bother with the green onion, as I found the regular onion sufficient. Once I combined the sauteed chicken with the pepper mixture I found that simmering that mixture 10-15 minutes was enough to cook the chicken. I believe 25 minutes would have made it overcooked and quite probably dry and chewy. Half the amount of cilantro was perfect for hubs and me, but that is a matter of personal taste buds. For added richness I swirled in a little butter at the end. I served this over white rice with a side of "Black Beans with Bacon," also from this site. I am really surprised that as I write this only 17 other people have reviewed it. I hope this review will encourage more cooks to give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this when I got tomatilloes in my CSA (farm delivery) box and didn't know what to do with them. A great, tasty supper dish! I did add a serrano pepper as suggested, for extra kick. It was tangy and flavorful, the flour coating helped the chicken to retain just a bit of crispness as well as giving the sauce body. I served this with black beans and cornbread. Yum! A keeper. For the peppers: Put charred peppers into a Ziploc and close, allow to cool, and then peel off the skins. This steams the peppers and allows the skins to come off more easily. The oven roasting was great, though if you have a gas stove you can also char them directly on the burner. The roasting adds nice depth to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
5 stars if eaten with black beans & bacon (from this site) and rice...as suggested by Naples. What a hit it is when those two are combined with this recipe!! Leftovers were fabulous - and then I added some to Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas and it REALLY enhanced the yum-factor of that recipe! Overall, a satisifying concoction that really complements other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was excellent and the smell of the peppers roasting was heavenly. Do not skip this step! I did have problem getting the skin off of the Anaheims even after placing them in the freezer so I gave up and ended up chopping them up skin and all but I didn't notice it in the finished dish. I served it up in corn tortillas and 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This is very good! I forgot to make the black beans I wanted - I'll have to remember them next time! My husband and kids don't like them anyway! I do think it'd give this dish the "fill" it needs. I used two very large poblanos and added two serrano peppers. I also seasoned the flour with white pepper and jalapeno powder. I think I may add more broth next time and serve it over rice. As it stands, there wouldn't have been enough juice to flavor up the rice. I roasted the peppers and heated the sauce the night before to allow the flavors to blend better. I was cooking stuff on the stovetop anyway, so keeping an eye on the peppers was easy. I think 25 minutes is too long to roast them, as they were quite cooked when done. Next time I'll use my own method of oiling them up and roasting them on the proprane grill. I also added a splash of fresh-squeezed lime juice before serving also. Very good - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I added 2 jalapenos to this dish - one was roasted, and the other was sauteed. I also used more chicken broth than the recipe called for so we'd have more sauce. Loved how it tasted sweet at first and then the heat came out and rounded out the flavors - definitely add jalapenos to give this recipe some life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe Suzanne! I made it for dinner last night and my husband loved it! He couldn't stop raving about how great it turned out. I did make a few modifications. I added some additional chicken broth it to give it enough juice to simmer in. I also added some lime to add some additional flavor. I will definitely be adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very tasty but not quite as spicy as I expected. I used the tip mentioned by a previous reviewer of putting the roasted peppers in the freezer for a few mins - the skins came off easy peasy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I will definitely be making this one again! I don't know if my produce was "larger" than intended in the recipe, but I needed almost double the chicken broth and a LARGE saucepan. Note to those who have not charred and removed skins from peppers before...allow extra time - as it's not easy (I found out the hard way) but it is definitely worth the effort to get at least SOME of the skins off. (Plus the roasted peppers add an extra dimension to the dish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Sorry, we didn't care for the tomatillos. It was the first time I have ever used them and was very disappointed with the flavor. Don't know what I expected, but will never use again. Also when I roasted the peppers, some were just too thin to peel so I lost all the pepper. Luckily there were extra to add. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States