Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was pretty good. I roasted a jalapeno along with the other peppers and added it to the dish. The skins of the peppers didn't exactly "slip right off" even though I allowed them to steam in a paper bag for a few minutes after roasting. The peeling process took some effort. And although I browned the chicken breast chunks and then removed them from the pan to keep them from over cooking, and put them back in with the cilantro, they still came out dry and tough. Next time, I'll use thighs instead. Otherwise, we really liked this. I think it could have used more heat, maybe some cayenne or an un-roasted, chopped jalapeno would do the trick. I will definitely make it again. Thanks, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
All of my four kids, plus my husband ate this and enjoyed it! Have made it twice and used whatever combination of peppers I have on hand. We like dark chicken and therefore used thighs. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I've always wanted to make something with tomatillos, and with all the great reviews, this is what I tried. I loved all of the fresh ingredients, but took a lot of time to prepare. This dish had good flavor, but didn't stand out as something I had to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I found all of the fresh ingredients at the farmers market and wanted something different to try. I pulsed the tomatillos in the food processor instead of dicing them and used a chopped medium yellow onion instead of green onions. I also added about another cup of broth so it would be saucy enough to serve over rice. My DH loved it, I do not like peppers, but the chicken was good, the grown kids also loved it. It was labor intensive roasting the peppers and cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was very good, it was my first time cooking with tomatillos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My oh my, was this delicious! Simply perfect dish! Smells great, looks pretty and tastes so good you'll thank yourself for making this! I used a variety of peppers, poblano, jalapeno, and yellow and orange bell peppers. I almost took a short cut and was just going to chop and saute them, but I'm so glad I adhered to the recipe and roasted them first, which didn't require much more effort. The skins slipped off easily, and I think roasting the peppers contributed depth of flavor. I didn't bother with the green onion, as I found the regular onion sufficient. Once I combined the sauteed chicken with the pepper mixture I found that simmering that mixture 10-15 minutes was enough to cook the chicken. I believe 25 minutes would have made it overcooked and quite probably dry and chewy. Half the amount of cilantro was perfect for hubs and me, but that is a matter of personal taste buds. For added richness I swirled in a little butter at the end. I served this over white rice with a side of "Black Beans with Bacon," also from this site. I am really surprised that as I write this only 17 other people have reviewed it. I hope this review will encourage more cooks to give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Having never made anything with tomatillos before, this recipe was very good. I didn't use the Anaheim pepper because they didn't carry them in my grocery store, but it was good with just the poblanos. Other than that I followed the recipe as directed and served it over brown rice. Next time I have tomatillos, I will make this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We loved this recipe. I think next time I will roast the peppers under the broiler (5 minutes) and then put them in a paper bag to steam for a few minutes. I like the idea of adding black beans and think I will do that next time. I will definately be adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I added 2 jalapenos to this dish - one was roasted, and the other was sauteed. I also used more chicken broth than the recipe called for so we'd have more sauce. Loved how it tasted sweet at first and then the heat came out and rounded out the flavors - definitely add jalapenos to give this recipe some life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I LOVED this! I'd give it five stars, except I had to make modifications. I used dried cilantro in place of the fresh, a Cubanelle pepper in place of the Anaheims (the store didn't have any), pre-cooked deli fresh diced chicken (which allowed me to skip most of the third step, which drastically cut down cooking time), a pinch of red pepper flakes since I was out of cayenne, and I did add two serrano peppers for an added kick. I served this over white rice, and it was plenty filling. My father even managed to sneak away with the little bit of leftovers I had. I plan on making this again and again, thank you so much, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States