Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I've always wanted to make something with tomatillos, and with all the great reviews, this is what I tried. I loved all of the fresh ingredients, but took a lot of time to prepare. This dish had good flavor, but didn't stand out as something I had to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I found all of the fresh ingredients at the farmers market and wanted something different to try. I pulsed the tomatillos in the food processor instead of dicing them and used a chopped medium yellow onion instead of green onions. I also added about another cup of broth so it would be saucy enough to serve over rice. My DH loved it, I do not like peppers, but the chicken was good, the grown kids also loved it. It was labor intensive roasting the peppers and cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was very good, it was my first time cooking with tomatillos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My oh my, was this delicious! Simply perfect dish! Smells great, looks pretty and tastes so good you'll thank yourself for making this! I used a variety of peppers, poblano, jalapeno, and yellow and orange bell peppers. I almost took a short cut and was just going to chop and saute them, but I'm so glad I adhered to the recipe and roasted them first, which didn't require much more effort. The skins slipped off easily, and I think roasting the peppers contributed depth of flavor. I didn't bother with the green onion, as I found the regular onion sufficient. Once I combined the sauteed chicken with the pepper mixture I found that simmering that mixture 10-15 minutes was enough to cook the chicken. I believe 25 minutes would have made it overcooked and quite probably dry and chewy. Half the amount of cilantro was perfect for hubs and me, but that is a matter of personal taste buds. For added richness I swirled in a little butter at the end. I served this over white rice with a side of "Black Beans with Bacon," also from this site. I am really surprised that as I write this only 17 other people have reviewed it. I hope this review will encourage more cooks to give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Having never made anything with tomatillos before, this recipe was very good. I didn't use the Anaheim pepper because they didn't carry them in my grocery store, but it was good with just the poblanos. Other than that I followed the recipe as directed and served it over brown rice. Next time I have tomatillos, I will make this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We loved this recipe. I think next time I will roast the peppers under the broiler (5 minutes) and then put them in a paper bag to steam for a few minutes. I like the idea of adding black beans and think I will do that next time. I will definately be adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I added 2 jalapenos to this dish - one was roasted, and the other was sauteed. I also used more chicken broth than the recipe called for so we'd have more sauce. Loved how it tasted sweet at first and then the heat came out and rounded out the flavors - definitely add jalapenos to give this recipe some life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I LOVED this! I'd give it five stars, except I had to make modifications. I used dried cilantro in place of the fresh, a Cubanelle pepper in place of the Anaheims (the store didn't have any), pre-cooked deli fresh diced chicken (which allowed me to skip most of the third step, which drastically cut down cooking time), a pinch of red pepper flakes since I was out of cayenne, and I did add two serrano peppers for an added kick. I served this over white rice, and it was plenty filling. My father even managed to sneak away with the little bit of leftovers I had. I plan on making this again and again, thank you so much, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe Suzanne! I made it for dinner last night and my husband loved it! He couldn't stop raving about how great it turned out. I did make a few modifications. I added some additional chicken broth it to give it enough juice to simmer in. I also added some lime to add some additional flavor. I will definitely be adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This is very good! I forgot to make the black beans I wanted - I'll have to remember them next time! My husband and kids don't like them anyway! I do think it'd give this dish the "fill" it needs. I used two very large poblanos and added two serrano peppers. I also seasoned the flour with white pepper and jalapeno powder. I think I may add more broth next time and serve it over rice. As it stands, there wouldn't have been enough juice to flavor up the rice. I roasted the peppers and heated the sauce the night before to allow the flavors to blend better. I was cooking stuff on the stovetop anyway, so keeping an eye on the peppers was easy. I think 25 minutes is too long to roast them, as they were quite cooked when done. Next time I'll use my own method of oiling them up and roasting them on the proprane grill. I also added a splash of fresh-squeezed lime juice before serving also. Very good - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States