Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made this because like another user, I received some tomatillos in my "farm box" and had no clue what to do with them and other peppers I received. I made the mistake of putting 5 poblano peppers in instead of 3; I didn't have Anaheim peppers and green onion, so I didn't put those in. The dish ended up being way too spicy for my family's taste but it still was an excellent dish! It would have been so much better if I hadn't gone wild with the poblanos... I served it with rice and vodka mango smoothies to "cool our tongues" and it turned out fine! The chicken was especially good after taking it out of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was fantastic! I did leave out the Anaheim chile peppers but it still had enough spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fantastic and easy to make. There are a few steps, but they're really simple to follow. The dish came out wonderfully smoky and piquant without being overpoweringly hot. I served it over white rice, which soaked up the sauce nicely. I roasted all the peppers and the tomatillos, which I think added a nice flavor, but it was very difficult to remove the skins from the bell peppers, and I didn't notice anything strange in the taste or texture because I did so. This recipe is very nicely flexible; I couldn't find Anaheim chile peppers and used jalapenos instead, used two of both of those and two small bell peppers. I also accidentally used half the onion, garlic, and chicken because I only sporadically remembered that I was cutting it down. The combination of flavors here is really magical, and I'm not sure you can go too seriously wrong without trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelerOfTheWays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
To those that had trouble with the skin on the peppers -- don't give up! Try again; you won't regret it. 450 oven, blacken pasillos or tomatillos or jalapenos. Place blackened pasillos in a ziploc for 10 minutes. No problem, the skins will be peeling off whole and the extra flavor is worth it. We had some red chiles in a jar and chopped them; but kept them out till the very end for color --- same as for the celantro. It is easier to do this with a partner; one chops, one gets the spices and gets the pots ready - have fun. For a base we used black beans mixed with Minute Rice. Be patient, this recipe is worth the extra time. It's a beautiful ting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very time consuming. Ok taste, but will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
So yummy and pretty! I only cooked 3 breasts and used 2 poblanos, 2 Anaheim's, about half of an onion, 1 lb. tomatillos, and kept the portions equivalent on the rest of the ingredients. Didn't have green onions, and was still great! It's important to simmer the pepper mix long enough to get the tomatillos tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
5 stars if eaten with black beans & bacon (from this site) and rice...as suggested by Naples. What a hit it is when those two are combined with this recipe!! Leftovers were fabulous - and then I added some to Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas and it REALLY enhanced the yum-factor of that recipe! Overall, a satisifying concoction that really complements other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Absolutely delightful! My gf and I enjoy this meal once a month now. An excellent use of peppers and you can even change the peppers depending on how hot you want the dish. I add a green bell pepper as well and serve with black beans. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this one. I'm not into real spicy stuff, so I cut down on the Anaheim and it turned out great. Made this with the mexican rice recipe which complimented this nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States