Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Husband liked it, I did not. Maybe I just don't care for tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very flavorful and healthy!!! My husband even loved it and he is not a big fan of peppers. This is definitely not very spicy. I used dried green onions. I also broiled the veggies in step one for 7-10 mins instead of baking which takes longer. This recipe still takes about 1.5 hrs...but it is worth it!!!! Use a large sauce pan for step two...no way a medium saucepan would have held all of my veggies. Delicious! I served this over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
good, but it seemed like there was a slimyness to this. recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was our first time using tomatillos and we were not crazy about their taste, so I had to use some sugar to tone that down. Next time I would use less of those and make the day ahead because the next day it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This dish came out amazing. The flavor of the roasted peppers is so rich and mixed in with the tang of the tomatillos, it's untouchable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very good! The roasting peppers smelled delicious in my house. I roasted my peppers on a griddle, for about 25 minutes. After they were nice and black and blistery, I put them inside a plastic bag for 10 minutes. The steam that's created helps make the skin easier to peel off. I still had a little trouble getting all the skin off the poblano peppers, but who cares? Another thing, I only had 1 Anaheim pepper and no tomatillos, but who cares? It still tasted great with a nice serving of some Spanish rice on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was good and even better the next day. The only thing I did different from the recipe was adding a can of corn and a serrano pepper. Also, I used both red and yellow bell pepper. I served with chicken-flavored rice and refried beans. The next day, we ate all three wrapped up in fresh, flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We love this recipe! So full of flavor! I had to sub in one jalapeno for the Anaheim peppers - next time I will use 2 for a little more heat, but I'm hoping to be able to come across the anaheim chiles. I served with the black bean & rice recipe on this site - it was perfect! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was beautiful, as well as tasty. The zing was just right for me, one who doesn't like full-on heat. I am also not a cook, but I pulled this off pretty easily. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I'm glad to find a dish with traditional Mexican ingredients without the cheese and lard. I stumbled across this recipe when I had made some impulse purchases earlier this week and searched this website for recipes that had tomatillos and poblanos. I did make one alteration...I used vegeterian "chicken" strips as I am vegetarian. Still, I'm glad that I didn't simply pass over this recipe because it originally used meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States