Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I really liked this one - I also added 2 jalapenos (both roasted) - great spice and flavor. I cooked the chicken for 15 mins instead of the full 25mins and the chicken was perfect. Too spicy for the kids. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It was pretty good. Kind of like a Mexican version of Sweet and Sour chicken. Its a fairly labor intensive recipe. I likely won't make it again - not worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Tasty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this for dinner! It was awesome. I was looking for a recipe that used Tomatillos and when I read the recipe and I knew I had almost everything on hand. I made some variations from the recipe. I didn't have any Anaheim chile peppers on hand so I substituted by adding extra Pablano peppers. I didn't use vegetable oil. I substituted for a healthier version of oil (Coconut Oil). The recipe hadn't called for Parsley and I had fresh Parsley so I added that as well as the Fresh Cilantro. I didn't have black beans to add. I know I will make this again since it was a very good dinner and I will make certain to get black beans ahead of time when I expect to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this the other night, served it with white rice and black beans, really enjoyed it. My boyfriend was not a huge fan, but that's not the recipe's fault, just a matter of taste. Aside from shorting myself one poblano (reading failure on my part) I followed it exactly and it came out great. In the future I might cut back on the tomatillo a little just to make it more palatable for the other half, but I think it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I really liked this and it's a great way to use poblanos. I didn't make rice, but next time I will serve it over, as it was quite juicy. Really good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was a great recipe! A couple of things I would do differently for the consistency - mix the pepper and tomatillo mixture in my chopper a few times to make it more incorporated and more like a sauce. Mine was a chunky vegetable mixture. The flavors were great - I had 3 poblanos, 1 jalapeno and 2 sweet bell peppers. Roasting them is a must!!! I also didn't have green onions, so I used 1/2 of a vidalia. I don't use wheat flour, so I dredged the chicken in white bean flour. I don't think it's a necessary step, sauteed chicken would be just fine. Served with black beans (put some poblanos and onions in that, too) and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
So good! I mix and match my peppers but it always comes out well. I've also experimented with baking the chicken and then dumping the mixture on top. Not as much flavor but still good and better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
All of the flavors were delicious, but the oregano was too overpowering...I would cut it down to a teaspoon...or eliminate it altogether. Way too much oregano. Otherwise it was fantastic. I also skipped the flour dredge and didn't miss it at all. That took this recipe into the low-carb zone, which is nice when you are a Mexican/ Tex-Mex junkie and need to watch those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was awesome! The flavors were great together. It reminded me of stew. I served this with Mexican rice. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States