Chicken with Sausage and Dried Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was really good. I didn't measure the stored for because the reason I made this recipe was to use up a bunch of dried tropical fruits. So itwas apples, dates, mango, kiwi, etc. I'd say it was about 4 cups. I had soaked it overnight in water (or was really dry and hard.) I included the juice from that and also added enough broth to just cover the food in the cockpot. I'd say that was important; we appreciated enough broth to juice up the rice and toppings. I didn'thave smoked sausage so i used turkey breakfast sausage and added a drop off smoke seasoning. I never did decide if the sausage belonged in it or not. Next time, I'll leave out. But no one complained Anyway, very good. With some very few modifications this will make an amazing sweet and sour pork or chicken dish. That, I believe, will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Awful. Tasted terrible and looked ugly. I never waste food, but I had to throw it all away. Yes, I know how to cook and yes, I followed the directions. It was just a lousy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I enjoyed the chicken with sausage and dried fruit, but my husband did not like the flavor combination. I'll use less of the fruit if I make it again. If you are diabetic, be cautious because of the dried fruit. It made my sugar go up that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Flavors were okay, but the texture of the chicken and sausage together was strange after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This dish was barely OK. My chicken came out dry too. I didn't think there was much flavor from the fruit in the dish and the turkey sausage really seemed like it didn't belong. I didn't finish the leftovers the next day. Sorry, but I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
this was just ok. the chicken was dry, even though i used frozen as recommended. everything else was mush. the flavor was bland. It's a shame because it was so easy and did smell wonderful while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, New York, USA
Living In: Sodus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Though this is not very visually appealing it is pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I don’t have a slow cooker, so I modified this recipe for cooking on the stovetop. Even though I altered the recipe quite a bit, I’m still going to rate it since I couldn’t have made the meal without it! :) Here’s what I did: Cooked sausage and set aside. Seasoned chicken with salt, pepper, paprika and browned in pan. Added onion, red bell pepper (didn’t have green, but thought red looked nicer with the dish than green would have), ¾ or so cup of mushrooms, approximately 1 T. garlic, and sautéed until soft. Added apples, cranberries, chicken stock, parsley, and chives. Reduced heat to low, covered, and simmered for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Added cooked sausage to mixture and continued simmering an additional 10 minutes. Thought it needed additional seasonings so I added oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, additional parsley, a dash of red pepper flakes, and a dash of cinnamon. Also added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the liquid. With my changes, the dish came out sweet and slightly spicy. It would make a wonderful holiday dish. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was my first thing to ever cook in a crock pot, and it was wonderful! I followed the recipe to a T, but used dried apricots instead of the apples. Also used organic chicken stock and frozen chicken breast tenderloins, as I had that on hand. I also didn't have a lot of time, so I cooked it on High for 3.5 hours, and it was perfect! Served it over wheat couscous, it wowed my guests and they all praised this easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe turned out fabulous. I did cook the turkey sausage, onion, green pepper, and garlic together in a skillet first. I layered the frozen chicken, sausage/pepper mix next and followed the rest of the recipe. I actually had three potatoes that I needed to use so I wrapped those in aluminum foil, poked holes in them and placed them on top of the recipe already in the crock pot for the entire 11 hours that it cooked and they turned out perfectly! So, we had a delicious meal with spinach salads, baked potatoes and chicken and sausage with a sweet and spicy punch! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States