Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
YUM! I just have to say that I am HORRIBLE at #1 frying foods & #2 making gravy, however, this was a SUCCESS! I LOVED the fact that there was no egg (lil' guy is allergic) and the whole preperation didn't trash my kitchen! I ended up using 3 breasts & 3 leg/thigh pieces, & since I made potatoes for the kids I used potato water for the gravy, which turned out really good = the kids didn't think that I made it. Thanks Anissa, for the tasty, simple & easy clean up meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was great! I used thighs and a leg. I also didnt have thyme so i just used my regular spices; season salt, lemon pepper, and garlic salt. I also omited the rice and just made mashed taters. Excellent!! I never made gravy before and this turned out perfect. Coulda used a little more gravy but oh well. My 5 yr old cleaned her plate, thats amazing!!!Thanks for a great recipe!! update: I didnt know what thyme was, i bought some to use in this recipe. Im glad i didnt have the thyme the first time cause it was nasty. Ill just use my regular spices. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
SOO easy and comforting! I, too, made mashed potatoes with it instead of rice. There was gravy on eveything! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Super easy, chicken came out great, gravy had good flavor, I ended up adding about a cup of milk to it since it was so thick and I wanted it to be creamier. I served over mashed potatoes instead of rice. Was very easy to make, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish. The only changes I made were to use chicken broth in place of the water and added more pepper. Otherwise I feel the gravy would have been a bit bland. Perfect quick weeknight meal! Thanks Anissa this will be repeated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe rocked! My mom made Fried chicken, rice and gravy for me all the time when I was younger. Now I am feeding it to my kids! My favorite meal ever!!!! I used minute rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNEDY5976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
My husband and I just love this recipe it's both, easy & delicious! I tried doubling the gravy as per the suggestion of another member and it definitely helped. Thanks for submitting this tasty recipe and for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made chicken and rice a million times but never thought making gravy to go with it. This is superb!!!! Wonderful!!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Very easy, quick, and tasty recipe! I have altered it by using pork chops and egg noodles instead of chicken and rice. I add about a cup of milk to the gravy to create more than the recipe calls for. I find that seasoned salt and poultry seasoning also make a good combination of spices for the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Nahr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
easy and great. I used chicken stock for the gravy and instead of mixing the flour in the stock I sprinkled it right in the pan and toasted the flour it added a lot of great flavor.I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States