Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
YUM! I just have to say that I am HORRIBLE at #1 frying foods & #2 making gravy, however, this was a SUCCESS! I LOVED the fact that there was no egg (lil' guy is allergic) and the whole preperation didn't trash my kitchen! I ended up using 3 breasts & 3 leg/thigh pieces, & since I made potatoes for the kids I used potato water for the gravy, which turned out really good = the kids didn't think that I made it. Thanks Anissa, for the tasty, simple & easy clean up meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
easy and great. I used chicken stock for the gravy and instead of mixing the flour in the stock I sprinkled it right in the pan and toasted the flour it added a lot of great flavor.I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish. The only changes I made were to use chicken broth in place of the water and added more pepper. Otherwise I feel the gravy would have been a bit bland. Perfect quick weeknight meal! Thanks Anissa this will be repeated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was great! I used thighs and a leg. I also didnt have thyme so i just used my regular spices; season salt, lemon pepper, and garlic salt. I also omited the rice and just made mashed taters. Excellent!! I never made gravy before and this turned out perfect. Coulda used a little more gravy but oh well. My 5 yr old cleaned her plate, thats amazing!!!Thanks for a great recipe!! update: I didnt know what thyme was, i bought some to use in this recipe. Im glad i didnt have the thyme the first time cause it was nasty. Ill just use my regular spices. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
SOO easy and comforting! I, too, made mashed potatoes with it instead of rice. There was gravy on eveything! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Super easy, chicken came out great, gravy had good flavor, I ended up adding about a cup of milk to it since it was so thick and I wanted it to be creamier. I served over mashed potatoes instead of rice. Was very easy to make, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe rocked! My mom made Fried chicken, rice and gravy for me all the time when I was younger. Now I am feeding it to my kids! My favorite meal ever!!!! I used minute rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNEDY5976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
My husband and I just love this recipe it's both, easy & delicious! I tried doubling the gravy as per the suggestion of another member and it definitely helped. Thanks for submitting this tasty recipe and for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made chicken and rice a million times but never thought making gravy to go with it. This is superb!!!! Wonderful!!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Very easy, quick, and tasty recipe! I have altered it by using pork chops and egg noodles instead of chicken and rice. I add about a cup of milk to the gravy to create more than the recipe calls for. I find that seasoned salt and poultry seasoning also make a good combination of spices for the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Nahr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States