Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish. The only changes I made were to use chicken broth in place of the water and added more pepper. Otherwise I feel the gravy would have been a bit bland. Perfect quick weeknight meal! Thanks Anissa this will be repeated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
YUM! I just have to say that I am HORRIBLE at #1 frying foods & #2 making gravy, however, this was a SUCCESS! I LOVED the fact that there was no egg (lil' guy is allergic) and the whole preperation didn't trash my kitchen! I ended up using 3 breasts & 3 leg/thigh pieces, & since I made potatoes for the kids I used potato water for the gravy, which turned out really good = the kids didn't think that I made it. Thanks Anissa, for the tasty, simple & easy clean up meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Wow! I tried something new and I like it! I have never made gravy this way and it was easier than expected. The chicken tasted really juicy too. The only downside is having to wait for the chicken to cook through but that is time well spent doing the dishes and setting the table! I served this with the Garlic Fried Rice recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love chicken and rice with gravy but I will and do improvise. I wanted to respond, respectfully, to some negativities that I see throughout this recipe site. As a cook and parent we all know our family and their preferences as far as seasoning and spices and when we respond with whatever rating to a recpie I feel in giving the recipe a rating, in a sense, we are paying respect to the originator of the recipe for their creation. To me it takes nothing from their creation to improvise and make it our own. In a way that is a tremendous compliment to them. That is just my feeling. I love this site and I LOVE all the diversity throughout. When people give their insight it helps me to "make it my own" without disrespecting the originator. Diversity is what makes the world go around. If no one took initiative to create or recreate the world would be boring. No disrespect intended to anyone, just my thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that I make often, but it would benefit from a slight change in technique. Those of you that complain about the gravy should try this: Add a few TBS of butter to the pan when the chicken is done. Stir well to get all the bits off the bottom of the pan. Add the 2 TBS flour (or maybe 3) to make a roux, and let it bubble for a few minutes while you get all the lumps out. Then, pour in chicken broth, not water, and stir while it thickens. If it is too thick, add more broth. Let it cook on lower heat for a few minutes to cook the flour taste out of it. This is a more classic way to make gravy, and I think you'll like it better this way, as it cooks the flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Quick and easy dish to which I added carrots, onions, celery, peas and chicken broth instead of water. Added in a few more seasonings and a small splash of Gravy Master. Comforting and good Anissa; thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
this recipe was freaking awesome! I didn't have thyme so i just added some parsley and garlic and onion powder. The seasoning was perfect. I used chicken tenders instead of breast and used chicken broth for the gravy and used milk to thin it out like another reviewer suggusted. Definately a keeper. UPdated* i made this again and accidently use a whole cup of broth and it was the perfect amount for the gravy, i didn't need to add any milk or water! I also cut up the chicken to bite size pieces for quicker cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I substituted white wine for the water in the gravy and it was delicious. The kids didn't like it that much, but the adults loved it. It was very flavorful. One problem that I had was that when I plated the meal, half of the rice was left over. Next time, I will cut the rice in half. I will also divide the meat into two different pans and make one gravy with white wine and the other with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was fantastic! A perfect weekday meal. I listened to other reviewers and used broth for the gravy, added a pinch of pepper, a tablespoon of whole milk at the end to desired consistency. Yes, I should have doubled the "gravy", perhaps quadrupled it, very little. I did my breasts 10 mins/side, too long, but I am getting used to a new stove. However, that did not affect the wonderful dinner we had last night. A nice white wine would have worked with it! I use River Rice when making dishes with a sauce. Yeah, I would rename this recipe Chicken With Rice and Sauce. For such a simple recipe, I was quite impressed. I am keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love chicken cooked this way! I used Smart Balance instead of butter, and I used instant potatoes because my kids prefer them to rice. The gravy turned out fabulous, but I didn't make enough of it. Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States