Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I use Minute Rice because it's easier. If you're looking for a comfort food that kids and hubby will enjoy, try this you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
YUM! I just have to say that I am HORRIBLE at #1 frying foods & #2 making gravy, however, this was a SUCCESS! I LOVED the fact that there was no egg (lil' guy is allergic) and the whole preperation didn't trash my kitchen! I ended up using 3 breasts & 3 leg/thigh pieces, & since I made potatoes for the kids I used potato water for the gravy, which turned out really good = the kids didn't think that I made it. Thanks Anissa, for the tasty, simple & easy clean up meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was great! I used thighs and a leg. I also didnt have thyme so i just used my regular spices; season salt, lemon pepper, and garlic salt. I also omited the rice and just made mashed taters. Excellent!! I never made gravy before and this turned out perfect. Coulda used a little more gravy but oh well. My 5 yr old cleaned her plate, thats amazing!!!Thanks for a great recipe!! update: I didnt know what thyme was, i bought some to use in this recipe. Im glad i didnt have the thyme the first time cause it was nasty. Ill just use my regular spices. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
SOO easy and comforting! I, too, made mashed potatoes with it instead of rice. There was gravy on eveything! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This is a great recipe! I am known for my horrible gravy making skills but this one turned out perfect. I did find that it needed a bit more flavor so I used chicken stock instead of water. I also doubled the amount of gravy since my hubby likes to drown his food. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Super easy, chicken came out great, gravy had good flavor, I ended up adding about a cup of milk to it since it was so thick and I wanted it to be creamier. I served over mashed potatoes instead of rice. Was very easy to make, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I thought this was really good, except for one thing...not enough gravy! The other reviewers who made it found that there was too much gravy, but I had to double it in order to accomodate my family. I also doubled the spices in the flour mixture; all in all, this was very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Pretty bland, not a lot of gravy produced, rice soaks everything up, better off making with mashed potatoes and doubling the gravy as well as the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Nothing negative to say about this recipe, just nothing special either. Tasted fine, needs more zip of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe rocked! My mom made Fried chicken, rice and gravy for me all the time when I was younger. Now I am feeding it to my kids! My favorite meal ever!!!! I used minute rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNEDY5976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States