Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Awesome! I made this tonight, my family loved it. WoW, I had boring chicken breasts and this recipe turns them into a hearty flavoful meal. It was great! I added garlic powder to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tripled this recipe..also added garlic powder and onion powder. And as per others, used chicken broth instead of water. and poultry seasoning... it was very good. My husband still felt it wasnt spicy enough and added hot sauce...but we almost always had hot sauce to all we eat. I felt it was spicy enough with out the hot sauce. However it would have been bland as written.Im very glad I added more seasonings. This was my first time serving gravy with rice instead of potatoes.It was different,but nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The chicken was good, but the gravy was bland. I used half a big chicken bouillon cube for 4x the amount of gravy, but I should've used the whole thing. I added some white pepper to it, which helped. I quadrupled the gravy based on other reviews, but it was too much. I used a lot (which is why I made so much), but my boyfriend didn't use much at all, and between the two of us, doubling the gravy would've probably been more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
great concept, just bland gravy. i wish i would have taken the suggestions from other reviewers but i wanted to make it as written first. all in all a good recipe that i will use more often, just next time i will use chicken broth instead of water....oh and i tripled the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Wonderful. This will be a new stapple in my house. When I make the rice I add chicken bouillon to make it have more flavor. This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
gravy was terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This turned out great evem for my kids who are picky eaters. I also made mash potatoes, corn, and biscuits and the chicken was gone 1st. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The chicken was worth making. But, I didn't care for the taste of the gravy. I made some from a package instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Wow! I tried something new and I like it! I have never made gravy this way and it was easier than expected. The chicken tasted really juicy too. The only downside is having to wait for the chicken to cook through but that is time well spent doing the dishes and setting the table! I served this with the Garlic Fried Rice recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Mom always fixed us fried chicken with rice and gravy. She fried the cut up fryer in lard (yum). Grama did the same thing. She made the gravy using Mil-Not and water (50/50) SUPERB I can't imagine eating mashed potatoes with fried chicken. It's truly more Southern style because they grow rice in the south and not potatoes. Rice and gravy is like having dessert with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deacon Don

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States