Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a regular for my family - quick, easy, and always perfect. Sometimes we make mashed potatoes instead of rice, but the gravy is to die for and is great on potatoes, too. In fact, I make an extra batch of the gravy mix and put 4-TBSP batches into individual storage containers to make gravy with later on, even when we don't have chicken. I just mix a little chicken or beef bouillon into the milk/water/flour mix before adding it to the pan with some melted butter. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe! I too used chicken broth instead of water for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Roman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Yuck. I'm very familiar with southern cooking, and this gravy was horrible. I'm hoping it was just an operator error on my part, but my whole family hated it, and well, suffice it to say that we are going to find a better recipe next time we want chicken and gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishAiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love chicken cooked this way! I used Smart Balance instead of butter, and I used instant potatoes because my kids prefer them to rice. The gravy turned out fabulous, but I didn't make enough of it. Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My family and I really enjoyed this dish. My only complaint is I would need to make more gravy because it didn't make enough especially for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. Will definitely make it again. Great gravy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donelectra59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was tasty and easy to make. I doubled the amount of gravy (we like a lot) and used broth in place of water. Even with that change, I think the gravy lacked seasoning but this is a good recipe to start with and adapt to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skillet
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a good meal. (Check out my picture above. Yeah.....don't be jealous.) I made the mistake of using pre-ground thyme so that flavor overwhelmed the gravy. Will use less next time. I had never cooked chicken in butter.....nice. My gravy turned out darker than in the other pictures but still good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I give this 5 stars because its easy, and I'm sure delicious. Just had to share, that i was not in the mood to cook, and had to make something quick before work. I made a real mess, burned myself, and the 'browned bits' ... well mine were black. I will definately try again when im more focused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Cox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
YUMMMY CHICKEN!!!!! cooked perfect. I was afraid it would burn in the butter but it went well. I wasn't crazy about the gravy so I just added some store bought chicken gravy. Chicken was crispy & delish! next i will try w/ a different cut of chicken {thin stips}.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States