Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was born and raised in the South.....I know good Southern food...and know how to cook it also. I tried this recipe as written......all i can say about it is that it was fast. As others here have stated,,,,,bland & boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is really easy and I like it a lot better than traditional fried chicken. The only things that I do different is add cornstarch, and a little thyme instead of flour mixture when making the gravy because I don't like the floury flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is great. I made my gravy a little different. We like brown gravy so after cooking the chicken I put the 2 Tablespoons of flour in the drippings and browned it a bit then added the water to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Ann Godfrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
this was big hit. so easy. I added some carrots, celery, and green peppers to the rice. i boiled them in the water/chicken broth for the rice. I also used half brown rice and half white rice. also a little chicken base to the gravy. with the chicken broth and base i added I excluded to salt. yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by golddigge
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by golddigge

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love chicken and rice with gravy but I will and do improvise. I wanted to respond, respectfully, to some negativities that I see throughout this recipe site. As a cook and parent we all know our family and their preferences as far as seasoning and spices and when we respond with whatever rating to a recpie I feel in giving the recipe a rating, in a sense, we are paying respect to the originator of the recipe for their creation. To me it takes nothing from their creation to improvise and make it our own. In a way that is a tremendous compliment to them. That is just my feeling. I love this site and I LOVE all the diversity throughout. When people give their insight it helps me to "make it my own" without disrespecting the originator. Diversity is what makes the world go around. If no one took initiative to create or recreate the world would be boring. No disrespect intended to anyone, just my thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that I make often, but it would benefit from a slight change in technique. Those of you that complain about the gravy should try this: Add a few TBS of butter to the pan when the chicken is done. Stir well to get all the bits off the bottom of the pan. Add the 2 TBS flour (or maybe 3) to make a roux, and let it bubble for a few minutes while you get all the lumps out. Then, pour in chicken broth, not water, and stir while it thickens. If it is too thick, add more broth. Let it cook on lower heat for a few minutes to cook the flour taste out of it. This is a more classic way to make gravy, and I think you'll like it better this way, as it cooks the flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
So easy to make even I did it! However, I changed out the water for chicken brith and a little white wine (what can I tell you, I like the grapes!) The second time I made this I added a little garlic to the mix just to give the flavor just a little nudge upwards. All depends on you and your tastes. As with everything, the recipe is the base and from there you build!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
THIS IS GOOD BUT I TOO USE CHICKEN BROTH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa

Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States