Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Been making this for a while now and loved by everyone here. I used thin sliced breasts tonight and much easier as far as length of time to fry. And yes you need to use the chicken broth for sure for the gravy - I also use it instead of water when making rice. I had 6 chicken breasts and the cup of flour to coat the breasts is way too much - should have remembered that from last time! Also I did double the spices and added some onion powder. Used 2 cups of broth (buy the good kind!) and used 4 tablespoons of flour for gravy and next time will only use 3 (if I remember again!) cause was a bit thick but just added some milk and thinned it right up. Good dinner and easy which is always key during the week. Hope you try it! and thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Yummbelievable! It's a family favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Flavorful juicy chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Ive made this recipe for years...its good, but the measurement of the rice that you have is for 6 servings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
i tried it and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I'm trying this recipe,right now.The gravy didn't turn out so well.But,it doesn't hurt to keep trying it.Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.A.Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I'm always looking for different recipes that aren't fancy because my family has plain jane pallots and this was it. It wasn't boring just not spicey and overtaken by lots of herbs and spices. This was really good and I followed MexicoKaren's hint on the gravy technique and it was super. Could have used quite a bit more gravy though. My picky 7 year old even cleaned his plate and asked for more! This is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have to give this 4 stars because it's just so good and the base recipe isn't that bad, but I did make a lot of changes to it like some others. I doubled the paprika and pepper, added 1/4t garlic powder and 1/8t chipotle powder to the flour mix. If I'd had onion powder that would have been good too. I added a lot more salt. I also used 3/4-1c of stock for the gravy, as well as about 1/4c milk to get it to the consistency I like. The chicken comes out crispy and juicy and the gravy on it's own is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
i loved it!!! so easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States