Chicken with Rice (Arroz con Pollo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very very very good! There is this Cuban style place here in Corpus Christi called Havana Club and they serve tapas. Well, the food there is amazing and prepared by this awesome chef. They have arroz con pollo as one of the tapas, and it is my favorite thing to get there. It is so full of flavor like authentic arroz con pollo. Well, I found this recipe hoping to make it myself, and suprisingly it was very similar. Same great flavor and everything, except for this one had peas. I think the peas add a nice touch though. This is a very good recipe to make authentic arroz con pollo, so I suggest everyone give it a shot. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Delicious! My hubby loved it also and said it's the best of my many attempts at making Arroz con Pollo. I've been trying to duplicate the Arroz con Pollo that my friend's father made many years ago (he was Puerto Rican and made absolutely the best!). This wasn't quite it, but it was delicious nonetheless. The only drawback was that, with the chicken just sitting on top of the flavorful rice, the chicken had no flavor. I recall that my friend's father simmered his on the stovetop with the chicken mixed in among the rice and flavorings so the chicken absorbed some flavor. I used frozen peas, thawed, instead of fresh peas. My husband asked what the "crunchy things" were - it was rice that needed more liquid, so next time I'll increase the amount of chicken broth. The rice would even be great without the chicken! Just the right amount of spiciness. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was really yummy! I made a few changes and will make a few additional changes the next time I make it. I don't have a dutch oven so I let all the ingredients boil on the stove top and then added it to a casserole dish and then finally added the chicken back in. Also, I used chicken broth instead of water at the end. Next time I will incorporate the peas, pimentos, and olives into the rice (just my prefernce) instead of putting it on top. Also next time I will marinate the chicken (maybe in Mojo) before browning it. The chicken was cooked perfectly but lacking some flavor. Overall it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
So fake, I don't know if this is Cuban or Brazilian, but definitely not Mexican with all those peppers and olives....maybe Texmex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is really really good!!! Just remember it does get a little "thick" adding a little chicken stock should do the trick. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Soooo good! Eating leftovers right now! Hubby and brother-in-law (both fussy eaters) liked it too:) I made a few alterations to suit our tastes, and it was exactly what I was hoping for. The alterations I made were: (1) I substituted boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of the skin-on chicken thighs because my husband and I don't like dark meat (therefore I put the chicken into the rice instead of on the top of it before baking as I didn't want it to dry out) and (2) I put a little less than half of the tomatoes called for and replaced with a proportionate amount of extra chicken broth so that the rice had enough liquid to cook. The full amount of the tomatoes called for looked like it would be too much... Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Was just the right amount of spicy (we like medium spicy food). Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUMMY! My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was excellent. I used only 2 or 3 tablespoons of olive oil to sear the chicken, which I had seasoned first with Creole seasoning. I added 1/2 teaspoon paprika and a little parsley, 3 cloves garlic and substitued tumeric for saffron. I used 1 cup frozen peas and 1/2 cup wine in lieu of water. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this last night. I left out the jalapenos because the kids do not like hot. I did have a hot pepper that I cooked with the onions. I also added a can of pink beans instead of peas. This was a big hit. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was delicious! The only thing I did differently was use a package of yellow rice that already had the seasoning in it instead of the white rice, salt, pepper, and saffron threads. I also used a jar of pimentos and olives that were already chopped. My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States