Chicken with Rice (Arroz con Pollo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was really yummy! I made a few changes and will make a few additional changes the next time I make it. I don't have a dutch oven so I let all the ingredients boil on the stove top and then added it to a casserole dish and then finally added the chicken back in. Also, I used chicken broth instead of water at the end. Next time I will incorporate the peas, pimentos, and olives into the rice (just my prefernce) instead of putting it on top. Also next time I will marinate the chicken (maybe in Mojo) before browning it. The chicken was cooked perfectly but lacking some flavor. Overall it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe for a cold day, but not heavy. I like to use white wine instead of water and prefer to simmer everything on the stovetop instead of transferring to the oven. It's also good with crab instead of chicken -- even the "fake" crabmeat is good for a lighter alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Made this for the first time tonight. My husband loved it! The chicken was so tender you could shred it with a spoon! Make sure to remember that you are only browning the chicken in the first step, not cooking it thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turttletoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is really really good!!! Just remember it does get a little "thick" adding a little chicken stock should do the trick. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Absolutely great recipe! I ended up using curcuma instead of saffron (didn't find any that night) and added a bit of cumin to the rice. The chicken I mixed in with the rice instead of leaving it at the top and this meant a lovely flavor to the meat, too. While the dish was in the oven I added about a bottle of beer to it, for some authentic taste. Before serving, I generously added dashes of Maggi seasoning sauce (google it, it's too complicated to describe; I've been told by a Cuban friend that they use it a lot at home). It worked out just fine and got rave reviews from my guests who'd tasted the real thing before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this last night. I left out the jalapenos because the kids do not like hot. I did have a hot pepper that I cooked with the onions. I also added a can of pink beans instead of peas. This was a big hit. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very very very good! There is this Cuban style place here in Corpus Christi called Havana Club and they serve tapas. Well, the food there is amazing and prepared by this awesome chef. They have arroz con pollo as one of the tapas, and it is my favorite thing to get there. It is so full of flavor like authentic arroz con pollo. Well, I found this recipe hoping to make it myself, and suprisingly it was very similar. Same great flavor and everything, except for this one had peas. I think the peas add a nice touch though. This is a very good recipe to make authentic arroz con pollo, so I suggest everyone give it a shot. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Delicious! My hubby loved it also and said it's the best of my many attempts at making Arroz con Pollo. I've been trying to duplicate the Arroz con Pollo that my friend's father made many years ago (he was Puerto Rican and made absolutely the best!). This wasn't quite it, but it was delicious nonetheless. The only drawback was that, with the chicken just sitting on top of the flavorful rice, the chicken had no flavor. I recall that my friend's father simmered his on the stovetop with the chicken mixed in among the rice and flavorings so the chicken absorbed some flavor. I used frozen peas, thawed, instead of fresh peas. My husband asked what the "crunchy things" were - it was rice that needed more liquid, so next time I'll increase the amount of chicken broth. The rice would even be great without the chicken! Just the right amount of spiciness. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This would had been better with less tomato and add some shrimp to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States