Chicken with Red Grapes And Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Used red wine. Nasty. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
A very different twist. Use white wine or zinfandel as the flavor is better and it doesn't turn pink (it's pretty gross looking). I also used about 1/2 of the dried thyme recommended and of course fresh is better if you have it available. I found that I ended up cooking the grapes longer to really heat them up to almost bursting. Very good. The sauce was the best part. I might skip the chicken altogether next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was easy to make, flavorful and fun. I used 1/2 syrah I had leftover and 1/2 white cooking wine - I was planning on using all syrah until the last minute when I started getting worried about the color (the color with 1/2 red wine was fine in my opinion and next time I'll either stick to all white wine or all red wine). I substituted Italian seasoning instead of thyme only because I didn't have any thyme, but I used one teaspoon instead of the tablespoon it called for. Used two chicken breasts but cooked the full amount of the sauce because we like our food with plenty of sauce leftover. I also used the entire container of mushrooms (at least 2 cups). The rest of the instructions I followed closely. I would note that it takes longer than 3 minutes for the cream to reduce and thicken. My husband also loved it, saying it tasted "restaurant quality." I served it over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I added fresh sliced squash and zucchini to the mushrooms and it was heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Em
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
First time cooking with grapes! I used half-&-half instead of heavy cream. I added oregano, basil and a dash of curry powder! I don't think the grapes added much flavor but this recipe was interesting to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The flavors melded pretty well, but it's also pretty rich. My husband thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is incredibly rich. Almost too delicious! The purple color didn't bother me at all. Makes it seem more gourmet, lol. I might tone down the cream and butter next time for reasons others have also mentioned. But in any case, you gotta try this one. If you're a novice like me, it will take more than 30 min, but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was so delicious !! Although we did not add the grapes. We've made this many times and always look forward to it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
this sauce had no flavor and the pasta absorbed it all so it came out dry. I reheated it later on and added some butter and Parmesan to the pasta and it was a lot better.. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Easy and enjoyable. I used fresh sage instead of dried thyme, and sauteed the sage with the mushrooms. Next time I might use more red wine (or perhaps port wine) to give the sauce a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States