Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was so delish! If you're looking for a healthy dinner and need to use up some chicken (or shrimp) and veggies, look no further. This is also a great make-ahead meal. I boxed up the leftovers for later in the week, and they tasted as good as day 1. Based on the ingredients I had on hand, I made the following substitutions: red onion for the regular onion, lemon juice for the lime juice, dried basil for fresh, and grape tomatoes for the regular tomato. I used the fat free, lower sodium broth, but the feta made up for the lower salt, so this had fantastic flavor. For veggies, I used the zucchini, cherry tomatoes, broccoli, red pepper, and snap peas. The combination of veggies made it pretty interesting, not to mention healthy. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Simply loved it.easy to be done.good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this as stated and it was delicious. Was my first time cooking anything with quinoa and I was pleasantly surprised how tasty it was. Next time I make this dish I will play around with different vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elmira, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is a great recipe. I too did a lot of substitutions. I used baby spinach (about half bag) in place of the scapes. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Omitted the onion, doubled the zucchini, and used around 1/2 t dried basil instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was the first time I've made quinoa and I LOVE it. The chicken and veggies were also super easy to make. I don't think it took me the 55 minutes as the recipe stated. Well be making this again and eating more quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this dish last night exactly as directed except I added a couple more leaves of basil and I used garlic instead of garlic scapes. Delicious! This is a definite keeper in our meal plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I always try to stick with the original recipe first time but I really wanted to make this and didn't have zucchini and had to look up what garlic scape was...not in season. So, I read a few other reviews and went with 2 garlic cloves and broccoli. I promise I'll try it in future as is but it turned out fantastic nonetheless. I would also agree with other reviewers that it comes together in 40 minutes or less if you don't want soggy vegetables. I'm going to make this recipe many times to add new variations to the vegetables like asparagus, snow peas, leeks, regular peas, sundried tomatoes, mushrooms, peppers, spinach and maybe a variety of fresh herbs out of my garden. Thanks Kmo for the basis to endless possibilities for a quick and healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great chicken, great quinoa, but don't really go together... To my taste this chicken is better with mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I didn't have basil, feta, or lime, so I used thyme, oregano, and a little lemon. It turned out great! I followed the recipe for everything else. It was a great base recipe and easy to change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Really enjoyed this. Was my first time cooking with quinoa and found the meal delicious and filling. I'm vege so substituted the chicken for soya. I also used coconut oil and only 2 spoons in total. Also added an extra tomato and lots of black pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States