Chicken with Pepper Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe! I made this with yogurt instead of sour cream and used it without the pasta. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kajones
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was really really good! Unfortunately, I did have to change part of it even though I hated to. I didn't have flour, so instead of coating the chicken, I flavoured the oil in the pan with salt, pepper, and cayenne, which worked fine. Once the sauce was finished (had to use a little corn starch to thicken), I put my cooked linguini in the pan with the sauce and coated it. I only cook for two so there was a little left over, but my bf took that for lunch the next day and said it was even better. Good man :) When I make it again (and again, and again and...) I think I might try chopped mushrooms in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Not great for the cholesterol or the waistline, but sure is good. Took others suggestion & doubled the sauce. Don't let the calories & fat content stop you from trying this - will make again, just not to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Wow! I just made this for dinner...yummo!! I don't know how anyone could say this is not delicous! I only made a few moderations, because of what I did and didn't have in the house. I did double the sauce and why not?! It is super yummy! I used extra cayenne pepper because my husband loves spicy food and I also used pepper jack cheese since I didn't have jalapeno peppers. I did sub fat free sour cream...it made me feel a little less guilty about such a heavy sauce! Again, WOW!! I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
i had to make some major modifications due to what i had on hand, coupled with the fact that my 2 year old would be eating it and she doesn't do well with spice. i didn't flour the chicken, i just seasoned it heavily with montreal steak seasoning, some onion powder, and a light sprinkling of red pepper flakes, and stir-fried the chicken. I doubled the sauce for a pound of angel hair and used two chicken breasts, and i think that ratio was perfect. the sauce was pretty thin but i actually enjoyed it that way, which is strange for me, as i usually like a creamier sauce, but this was great! i used a brick of colby jack cheese and it was the tiniest bit stringy, but that was probably my fault for shredding the cheese too thick. i also eliminated the jalapeno and doubled the garlic. the flavor was intense, the sauce was delicious, and somehow managed to coat the pasta very well even though it was thin. everyone in my family enjoyed this and i will definitely be making it again. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Excellent!!! My husbands favortite dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
very good, I used green chilis instead of jalepenos and used pepper jack cheese.. mmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
this was very good. i did mine in the crockpot - it still turned out great. i think i needed to add a little more cheese but all in all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very tasty and good for the whole family. Because I have some in my family that loves spicy food and some that can't even handle black pepper, I subbed mild green chilies for the jalapenos. I also skipped the bell pepper, adding a bit more onion instead. Also, instead of pasta, I put the gravy and chicken over mashed potatoes which turned out very delicious. The only thing I was a bit disappointed in, was the fact that even after breading my chicken and adding extra spice on top, for some reason, it didn't seep into the meat itself. Major bummer :(. Otherwise, all in all, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States