Chicken with Pear Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe if you're cooking for a Gluten Intolerant person and want gravey or need a bland main dish. We didn't dislike it, but there's something missing. We liked it somewhat, but both hubs and I keep saying it needs something. I may make this again with tweeks! We'll eat it for lunch tomorrow. Maybe sitting overnight in the Pear Sauce will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I picked this recipe because I had a can of pears in juice that had to be used. Used 2 med. onions, chopped and thighs instead of breast meat. Came out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Replaced the green onions with about 1/3 caramelized yellow onion. Added a little more dimension as well as a sweetness to balance out the salt of the broth and bacon. Then sauteed the chicken in those drippings. I also baked the bacon at 375F for 20 minutes instead of the pan and used the drippings from that to saute the Served it with a couscous dish. Everyone enjoyed it (even the kids, who I thought wouldn't!). The Reisling was a good pairing with it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It is too bland. There is some kind of spice missing. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great idea! I did it quit a bit different and WOW! I used frozen chicken put in boiling water and added garlic while that was boiling on low, I cooked the bacon. After bacon was done I added 1 cup of organic chicken broth once that came to a boil I added a can of pears (water not syrup) mushed them up then added onion. I then added the flour water mix to thicken and tossed in a tbls of red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. I then placed the chicken and the sauce in the crockpot and let it cook for 5 hrs on low. Put it over baby red potatoes. Amazing flavor, tender meat and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
unbelevably bland; do this: double the salt and pepper on the chicken. add (to chicken) white cooking wine and hot sauce. to pear sauce, add small amount of white wine and hot sauce. boil pears in wine, hot sauce, chicken broth and honey for a few minutes, then mash pears (essentially make a rue). spoon over chicken in a casserole dish and bake for 15-20 minutes. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This chicken tasted great but was not real pretty looking. My kids liked it and that is what counts around here! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The sauce was very bland. Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm rating this a 5 for my family. My kids and Hubby raved about this dish!Sauce was fine, if you like a roux type sauce.But instead of just browning the chicken on sides, I also poured sauce over & baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This recipe is pretty tasty but a little too labor intensive for our family. Also, we don't recommend serving it with white rice. The rice is too bland for this mild dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sultan Hamud, Rift Valley, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States