Chicken with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I loved this recipe! The flavors are wonderful. It's great served over rice pilaf or white rice if you prefer. The only things I did differently were that I didn't have a shallot so I used a clove of garlic (I'm a big garlic lover). I also didn't have heavy cream so I used whole milk. I don't think it matters much since you use so little of it. The sauce was still thick and rich and really flavorful. I probably cut a few calories that way. One of these days I think I might try a bit less butter or half butter, half olive oil. Just to see if I can make it a bit more calorie friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Wonderful flavor! I found this recipe when I was looking for a chicken/mustard filling for crepes for Marti Gras. This was perfect! I filled whole wheat crepes with this chicken, sauteed spinach and Gruyere cheese and topped them with carmelized onions! The taste was fanastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was absolutely top notch. I also use the mustard sauce with pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe out on a few friends for a dinner and got rave reviews. I used a white wine instead of vermouth and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream. It was a recipe that I will pull and use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Republic, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This combination is amazing. I didn't have vermouth, so I used riesling wine instead. We used thin sliced whole chicken breasts to keep the moisture. Fried on super high heat for a shorter time. Used half butter/half extra-virgin olive oil. Made about double the sauce by doing another set of broth/wine/ after the first reduction, then adding cream to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made some basic substitutions- garlic for shallot, white wine for vermouth, dried for fresh parley, beer & brat for stone ground mustard- and I didn't bother with the flour. It was great! We served it over white rice with raw spinach and loved it. The sauce had good mustard flavor without being overpowering. I wasn't sure about the lemon, but was happy I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
this turned out really good, the sauce had the perfect mustard flavor. I had to use garlic in place of shallots and dry white cooking wine instead of vermouth. I did make the chicken a little different. I rubbed whole raw breast with mild mustard, dipped in bread crumbs, browned in pan then baked while I prepared the sauce. I added a pinch of fresh tyme to the sauce and served over whole wheat pasta. I have been looking for a good mustard chicken recipe since having some at a friends wedding last fall. I've finally found my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Oh, is this a winner! With a few little "adjustments," this is easily a 5-star dish, one I enjoyed every bite of. I cut the chicken into strips, floured it, but didn't season it with salt and pepper until it was in the skillet, sautéing in olive oil (pure, not extra virgin, for its higher burning temperature). When it was golden brown I removed it from the pan as directed, and sautéed the shallots along with some fresh minced garlic and a good handful of chopped red bell pepper, as it seemed this seriously needed some color. To that I added both mustards, the chicken broth and white wine (which filled in for the vermouth because I was too lazy to go down to the basement, where we keep our liquor and wine, for the vermouth). I gave it a good squeeze of lemon juice but no pulp, then let that reduce somewhat before I added the cream. I let that cook over low heat until I had the consistency I wanted, adding more cream and broth as necessary while I tended to the rest of dinner. The chicken was so pretty and golden brown I just couldn't see tossing it with the cream and burying its rich color. Instead, I plated the chicken, spooned some sauce over, and gave it a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. The chicken was sooo tender, and just delicious against the creamy, slightly tangy sauce. The combination of the two mustards with the rest of the well-chosen ingredients created a sauce that was just exquisite. This is a simply lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious! I rarely eat chicken but it smelled so good I just had to try! I didn't cube the chicken and used white wine in place of the vermouth but otherwise followed the recipe. Served over orzo- this is company-worthy ;) Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was very good. I used white wine instead of vermouth and used garlic and a chopped red bell pepper in addition to the shallot. I stirred in fresh baby spinach right at the end just until wilted and served it over egg noodles. The next time I make this I will pound the chicken very thin and brown it before I slice it. I just think I will enjoy the texture more. It was a very tasty dish with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States