Chicken with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I loved this recipe! The flavors are wonderful. It's great served over rice pilaf or white rice if you prefer. The only things I did differently were that I didn't have a shallot so I used a clove of garlic (I'm a big garlic lover). I also didn't have heavy cream so I used whole milk. I don't think it matters much since you use so little of it. The sauce was still thick and rich and really flavorful. I probably cut a few calories that way. One of these days I think I might try a bit less butter or half butter, half olive oil. Just to see if I can make it a bit more calorie friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Oh, is this a winner! With a few little "adjustments," this is easily a 5-star dish, one I enjoyed every bite of. I cut the chicken into strips, floured it, but didn't season it with salt and pepper until it was in the skillet, sautéing in olive oil (pure, not extra virgin, for its higher burning temperature). When it was golden brown I removed it from the pan as directed, and sautéed the shallots along with some fresh minced garlic and a good handful of chopped red bell pepper, as it seemed this seriously needed some color. To that I added both mustards, the chicken broth and white wine (which filled in for the vermouth because I was too lazy to go down to the basement, where we keep our liquor and wine, for the vermouth). I gave it a good squeeze of lemon juice but no pulp, then let that reduce somewhat before I added the cream. I let that cook over low heat until I had the consistency I wanted, adding more cream and broth as necessary while I tended to the rest of dinner. The chicken was so pretty and golden brown I just couldn't see tossing it with the cream and burying its rich color. Instead, I plated the chicken, spooned some sauce over, and gave it a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. The chicken was sooo tender, and just delicious against the creamy, slightly tangy sauce. The combination of the two mustards with the rest of the well-chosen ingredients created a sauce that was just exquisite. This is a simply lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This combination is amazing. I didn't have vermouth, so I used riesling wine instead. We used thin sliced whole chicken breasts to keep the moisture. Fried on super high heat for a shorter time. Used half butter/half extra-virgin olive oil. Made about double the sauce by doing another set of broth/wine/ after the first reduction, then adding cream to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Wonderful flavor! I found this recipe when I was looking for a chicken/mustard filling for crepes for Marti Gras. This was perfect! I filled whole wheat crepes with this chicken, sauteed spinach and Gruyere cheese and topped them with carmelized onions! The taste was fanastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was good. I used white wine instead of vermouth and the juice of half a lemon with no pulp. At first I thought the 2 mustards would be overpowering but it wasn't at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I had to improvise with the mustards because I didn't have plain dijon. I used a maple dijon. Everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was absolutely top notch. I also use the mustard sauce with pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Not bad, but it didn't "wow" me either. I subbed 2% milk for the cream & marsala for the vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have the dijon mustard so, considering it was still good, I can only imagine it would be even better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
4.25 didn't have a shallot. I added a little some onion & garlic in replace it. Added 1 Tbs lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States