Chicken with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I didn't have vermouth so I used a little marsala. The recipe was good though, the sauce was tangy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Not bad, but it didn't "wow" me either. I subbed 2% milk for the cream & marsala for the vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was good. I used white wine instead of vermouth and the juice of half a lemon with no pulp. At first I thought the 2 mustards would be overpowering but it wasn't at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
4.25 didn't have a shallot. I added a little some onion & garlic in replace it. Added 1 Tbs lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I loved this recipe! The flavors are wonderful. It's great served over rice pilaf or white rice if you prefer. The only things I did differently were that I didn't have a shallot so I used a clove of garlic (I'm a big garlic lover). I also didn't have heavy cream so I used whole milk. I don't think it matters much since you use so little of it. The sauce was still thick and rich and really flavorful. I probably cut a few calories that way. One of these days I think I might try a bit less butter or half butter, half olive oil. Just to see if I can make it a bit more calorie friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Wonderful flavor! I found this recipe when I was looking for a chicken/mustard filling for crepes for Marti Gras. This was perfect! I filled whole wheat crepes with this chicken, sauteed spinach and Gruyere cheese and topped them with carmelized onions! The taste was fanastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was absolutely top notch. I also use the mustard sauce with pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe out on a few friends for a dinner and got rave reviews. I used a white wine instead of vermouth and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream. It was a recipe that I will pull and use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Republic, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
We enjoyed this. I did end up adding a little more broth and cream as I thought the dijon flavor was a bit overwhelming but that solved that problem. I did sub non-fat half n half as I always do for any heavy cream and it was just fine as it always is. Non-fat half n half is such a great product and will reduce the calories and fat in many recipes that call for heavy cream without sacrificing flavor. The lemon juice was nice and added a fresh taste to the mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have the dijon mustard so, considering it was still good, I can only imagine it would be even better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States