Chicken with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a very forgiving recipe! I didn't have all the ingredients, but played around with what I had and it turned out amazing! Here's what I did: I sauteed a quarter of an onion, the added half a cup of sherry and reduced it a bit. Then I added half a cup of heavy whipping cream and nearly 3 TBS of mustard (I had stone ground mustard, not dijon) and cooked until it thickened up. Served with sauteed kale (with onion and garlic) which went really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was very good. I used white wine instead of vermouth and used garlic and a chopped red bell pepper in addition to the shallot. I stirred in fresh baby spinach right at the end just until wilted and served it over egg noodles. The next time I make this I will pound the chicken very thin and brown it before I slice it. I just think I will enjoy the texture more. It was a very tasty dish with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious! I rarely eat chicken but it smelled so good I just had to try! I didn't cube the chicken and used white wine in place of the vermouth but otherwise followed the recipe. Served over orzo- this is company-worthy ;) Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Oh, is this a winner! With a few little "adjustments," this is easily a 5-star dish, one I enjoyed every bite of. I cut the chicken into strips, floured it, but didn't season it with salt and pepper until it was in the skillet, sautéing in olive oil (pure, not extra virgin, for its higher burning temperature). When it was golden brown I removed it from the pan as directed, and sautéed the shallots along with some fresh minced garlic and a good handful of chopped red bell pepper, as it seemed this seriously needed some color. To that I added both mustards, the chicken broth and white wine (which filled in for the vermouth because I was too lazy to go down to the basement, where we keep our liquor and wine, for the vermouth). I gave it a good squeeze of lemon juice but no pulp, then let that reduce somewhat before I added the cream. I let that cook over low heat until I had the consistency I wanted, adding more cream and broth as necessary while I tended to the rest of dinner. The chicken was so pretty and golden brown I just couldn't see tossing it with the cream and burying its rich color. Instead, I plated the chicken, spooned some sauce over, and gave it a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. The chicken was sooo tender, and just delicious against the creamy, slightly tangy sauce. The combination of the two mustards with the rest of the well-chosen ingredients created a sauce that was just exquisite. This is a simply lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
this turned out really good, the sauce had the perfect mustard flavor. I had to use garlic in place of shallots and dry white cooking wine instead of vermouth. I did make the chicken a little different. I rubbed whole raw breast with mild mustard, dipped in bread crumbs, browned in pan then baked while I prepared the sauce. I added a pinch of fresh tyme to the sauce and served over whole wheat pasta. I have been looking for a good mustard chicken recipe since having some at a friends wedding last fall. I've finally found my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made some basic substitutions- garlic for shallot, white wine for vermouth, dried for fresh parley, beer & brat for stone ground mustard- and I didn't bother with the flour. It was great! We served it over white rice with raw spinach and loved it. The sauce had good mustard flavor without being overpowering. I wasn't sure about the lemon, but was happy I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I had to improvise with the mustards because I didn't have plain dijon. I used a maple dijon. Everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This combination is amazing. I didn't have vermouth, so I used riesling wine instead. We used thin sliced whole chicken breasts to keep the moisture. Fried on super high heat for a shorter time. Used half butter/half extra-virgin olive oil. Made about double the sauce by doing another set of broth/wine/ after the first reduction, then adding cream to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have the dijon mustard so, considering it was still good, I can only imagine it would be even better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
We enjoyed this. I did end up adding a little more broth and cream as I thought the dijon flavor was a bit overwhelming but that solved that problem. I did sub non-fat half n half as I always do for any heavy cream and it was just fine as it always is. Non-fat half n half is such a great product and will reduce the calories and fat in many recipes that call for heavy cream without sacrificing flavor. The lemon juice was nice and added a fresh taste to the mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States