Chicken with Mushrooms, Prosciutto, and Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I can't believe the person before me said this was just so-so! This was MARVELOUS! Perhaps better suited for the more sophisticated palate. So rich and flavorful! I used boneless skinless thighs and it was heavenly. I served it with mashed redskin garlic potatoes and grilled aspargus. My guests thought I was possessed by Martha Stewart, they were so impressed! Thank you Tiff for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
You've done a great job on this recipe. I was looking for a tasty dish to try for my first attempt with prosciutto and it was superb. The only thing I changed was the same as the advise from many others, mushrooms on the bottom of the dish along with an onion. I went a bit lighter on the garlic but that is a personal choice. I left the lid on the casserole dish and cooked it for 1.5 hours then, reduced the resultant liquid by half before adding the cream. Beautiful and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hans Speek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Robina, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Had Christmas at my house for the first time and wanted something to wow the inlaws and my husbands family...this was it. This turned out great. I made this the night before and put it into the oven for about 1 hour and 10 minutes and it turned out delicious. It was moist and everyone raved...thanks for making my Christmas dinner easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
What a simple and delicious way to prepare chicken! I used boneless chicken breasts that I pounded down to 1/2 inch thick. I also put the mushrooms on the bottom of the baking dish as others had suggested. The sauce was perfect. I used light sour cream and to thicken it, I used a little cornstarch and I had some Asiago cheese on hand so I grated a little of that into the sauce. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was o.k. I used chicken breast tenders and added artichokes. Half way through the cooking I had a lot of liquid and the mushrooms and prosciutto were not browning. I suggest putting the mushrooms on the bottom of the chicken (or saute them separately if you like 'em brown) or you'll be wasting $6.00 worth of prosciutto. Flavor was good though and the sauce was delicious. I reduced drippings & 3/4 cup white wine by half before adding sour cream. Great over angel hair pasta with some fresh lemon juice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very delicious. I used chicken cutlets, sliced very thin and I lightly browned them in butter before assembling everything because they didnt have the skin like the thighs would have. Because I made this for 16 people I used virginia ham instead of prosciutto, just to save on the cost and I didnt want to use bacon because it sounded too rich that way. Everyone loved it, I should have made much more it went so fast. I served this with a mushroom and artichoke risotto. Very delicious, easy to prepare and tasted like I cooked all day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is a terrific recipe and provides a base to experiment until you find your perfect mix of textures and tastes. We like chicken thighs well done. They are fatty enough to lend themselves to the well done side and we cook this dish until the prosciutto and chicken skin bind and provide a crispy crust (almost 2 hours with the last half hour at 325 degrees). I also place the schrooms on the bottom and use Chardonnay as the wine type. The extra cooking time reduces the liquid skightly, but rather than reducing it further I take out a little of the liquid before I put it in the saucepan and make a slurry with corn starch (heaping TBS)to thicken the cooking juices, sour cream, wine mixture. I have extra the next day when I serve any leftovers with steamed Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very rich sauce. I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs wrapped in prosciutto and completed the sauce with a dry white wine. I enjoyed this delicious chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and its rich sauce! A new dish for those that have tried everthing!!! I love it! I can't wait to make it for my friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren Heaphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I loved this recipe it was great and got great revews. I also used flattened chicken breasts. I added more than the 1 cup of recomended mushrooms, 5 different kinds of mushrooms, including portobella, italian brown, white button, shitake, annd morales. I made sure that almost all of the chicken was covered by mushrrom to prevent dryness and it worked. I had to add a tbsp of cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I have learned that cooking scores big points with women. This was awesomely easy and has become my go to dishe for when I want to cook dinner for my dates. I have only one big pan for cooking and I can use it for this whole meal. They should rename date chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States