Chicken with Mushrooms, Prosciutto, and Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've made this a couple of times now. It has become a new family favorite. The only thing I changed was technique. I used a casserole dish that could be used on the stove. I melt the buter and garlic together. After wrapping the chicken with the prosciutto I dip the bundles in the garlic butter to coat, and place them in the casserole pouring any remaining butter over the chicken. Cover with foil and bake as directed, removing the foil for the last 10 minutes so the prosciutto could brown. After putting the chicken on the platter, I place the casserole on the stove. Now I added the mushrooms to the pan drippings and reduce the broth a bit adding the wine and sour cream as directed. DE-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainLadyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My husband and I had never tried prosciutto but had bought some to try this recipe. turns out we don't like it. I realized I didn't have white wine (and being Sunday I guess we were SOL) I used red and the sauce came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagansess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was incredibly good! I used chicken breast since I had them on hand, and mixed some sliced onions in with the mushrooms. This was delicious served with garlic mashed potatoes and California blend veggies. The sour cream gave a different flavor to your typical cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These were great. Simple to make and wonderful in flavor and presentation. served with mashed pot. Will make again for sure. Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was the first time I tried this recipe. It turned out great! I used chicken breasts and like a few of the other reviews recommended I wrapped the chicken with the prosciutto and then put some of the mushrooms in the bottom of the pain to help crisp them up a little more. Turned out awesome, and I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
OMG this is amazing. Skip the whole sour cream part and just use a good jar of your favourite alfredo sauce. We didnt add the alfredo to the casserole dish, we just put the chicken breast on each persons plate, and then poured the alfredo over top! IT WAS INCREDIBLE. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this was so good! i used chicken breast instead of thighs and cut the recipe to feed 2 people instead of 6. i was iffy about using the wine for the sauce since im not a huge alcohol fan, even the taste of it in my food. i decided i would try it with the wine and im very glad i did. came out perfect. i made some mixed veggies with it and just tossed those in the remaining sauce with some salt and pepper. this is going in my keeper box for sure. might try it with thighs next time just to see if theres any difference in taste. but certainly a 5 star with the breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This will go in my recipe book as one of my all time favorties!!! Fantastic - and to top it off it is sooo easy. The thing that made it easier was that I cooked it right in a roasting pan so I could then just remove the chicken and do the sauce right in the pan over the stove. I added a bit of flour to make it a bit thicker and would add more mushrooms becuase I love them. (I also used light sour cream) Other than that it got rave reviews and I will definitely add it to my favorties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Maybe I missed something here, but I thought this was "OK". My mistake may have been that I used thighs that were not boneless. The thighs took 1 hr and 20 minutes to cook. The cream sauce was marginal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this recipe as is. My guests really liked it. I thought it was just okay because I didn't really care for the chicken thighs. I would probably like it better with chicken breasts, but that may make it too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States