Chicken with Lemon-Caper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
4 stars for mixed reviews. I would give it 3 stars, but the hubby loved it and would give it 5. My opinion is use less lemon! I doubled the lemon juice and the wine after reading numerous reviews to "double the sauce". I couldnt bring myself to use any more butter, but did in the end to cut some of the lemon flavor (which was still too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Fantastic recipe that will be an easy pleaser. I agree with the other person who doubled the sauce recipe so that there would be enough to cover the pasta. However, I found the sauce to be a bit runny. I'll have to think of what to do to thicken it for the next time. I'll definitely cook this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Malfoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was an OKAY recipe. I used chicken broth instead of wine. Also added some minced garlic. Used more AP flour to thicken the sauce. Overall, it was a little too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was sooo good and pretty easy to make! My husband and I made this and absolutely loved it! We only made a few modifications- a little garlic powder in the dry mixture, pounded out the chicken breasts, added 2 gloves fresh grated garlic to the sauce when it was reducing, used chicken broth instead of white wine, then added chopped black olives when we added the capers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Prepared as directed and very yummy! I used chicken tenderloin strips and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it is delicious if followed to a T, but also has lots of wiggle room! First time I made this, I made it exactly as recipe stated. Second time, I realized I didn't have white wine and went the chicken broth route as some people suggested - it was good! I do prefer with wine though. The next time I make this, I will follow another suggestion to add spinach to get some yummy wilted spinach in there. That sounds good! You can decrease the amount of flour for sure, but for the people saying to decrease butter I don't really think it's necessary ;) Overall, this will be a keeper in my chicken dish rotation. LOVE this. For people who are not fond of tart flavors that come with lemon juice and capers, this may not be tasty. but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight. My kids walked into the kitchen and complained about the smell, saw the capers and asked, "Eww, what are those?" They all ate every bite, my 10yo and 3yo had seconds. The first bite seemed very lemony, but I didn't notice it after that. I did substitute my all-purpose gluten free flour for the regular flour and it turned out fine. I will definitely be making it again, although I may reduce the lemon juice a bit. I had a citron, not a regular lemon, so that may have made it stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Louise Kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe and pretty easy --I only varied the recipe a bit by using chicken tenders, Panko Japanese breadcrumbs instead of flour for the coating, and spreadable butter made with some canola oil. I served it over capellini -- which carried the sauce nicely. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
TOO MUCH LEMON. I doubled the sauce but did not double the lemon and 1/4 cup was still way too lemony for us. Would not have been able to eat with the full amount stated in recipe. May try again starting with a tablespoon of lemon juice with double the sauce. I added garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I make this *all* the time! I usually double the "sauce" recipe. Half fresh squeezed lemon/half juice. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States