Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Very easy to make and tasted great that night and for left overs the next day. I left out the cilantro (as I hate it) and only used 1 green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I cooked a full authentic Chinese dinner for about 10 people, and doubled this recipe. I had leftovers for the next week (I also served 4 other main dishes). It was fantastic, delicious, easy, and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Fabulous recipe. Served it at an ethnic dinner club and received several thumbs up. Few small adjustments; substituted 1-2 Tbsp HOT black bean sauce for some regular for more spice, used chicken broth vs. bouillon. I found the bean sauce salty so cut out the salt and used light (vs. dark) soy sauce. Not sure exactly where to find or what to do for 'toasted' seasame oil so used regular seasame oil heated in toaster oven. I'm always nervous to make a recipe for the 1st time for a big groug but it worked great & pretty easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I have had this dish in many restaurants, and this recipe ranks high on the list! It was very yummy!! I ran into a problem when adding the cornstarch mixture at the end. I added the whole thing at once and my sauce turned into a blobby mush. I just added some water to thin it back out, and it tasted really good. So next time I make it I don’t think I will add the cornstarch or just a little, because the sauce looked perfect before I added it. I will definitely be making this again, and passing on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This tastes just like the one I had in England! So YUMMY! I didn't add the salt. I added water chestnuts, pea pods, and zucchini. I added most of the corn starch mix, but I did it a little at a time. I will be making this again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for Jalapeno Chicken that we order at a local Chinese restaurant & this comes very close. I substituted 4 sliced jalapeno peppers for one of the green peppers & it was great. Thanks for the recipe - if you like spicy food try it with the jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I liked this recipe but it took awhile to make. I cooked the chicken first and then added it to the recipe. I didn't like the idea of using raw chicken in a black bean sauce. I also added waterchestnuts and added just a little cornstarch to thicken it up. I used a low-sodium chicken boullion and low-socium soy. I thought it was pretty good, but my husband said it needed more salt. go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent, very yummy! I used trimmed, deboned and skinned chicken thighs instead though (more flavorful) and since the black bean sauce is already quite salty, I omitted the salt and cut down on the soy sauce to about 1 tsp. Forgot to get cilantro so I omitted that as well. Also added a little Chinese cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Just like the take out places. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Minshull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is delicious. When I am craving Chinese Food I make this up in a hurry. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States