Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It makes way too much sauce. I recommend halving the amount of black bean sauce and leaving out the extra salt. I like to add mushrooms and snow peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm glad that I did not add any salt to this- this is very salty- in the black bean sauce there is a whopping 1120mg of sodium so you can skip the salt and the soya sauce in my opinion. If you don't like salty dishes you won't like this. Also I only used 3 TBSP of the Black Bean sauce and it was just fine- served on a bed of Basmati rice and I used 2 very big chicken breasts and it was good enough. From start to finish it took an hour- its the prep. that took most of the time. Also I only used 1 tbsp of corn starch mixed in with a 1/2 c of hot water- and it concistancy turned out perfect. I'm not sure if I'll make this again- I have alot of black bean sauce left that will most likely sit in the fridge for a long time. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very good. Did not have fresh cilantro but dried worked fine. The sesame oil was fragrant and delicious- it really adds to the taste of the dish! I was almost out of soy sauce, so I also added a tablespoon of hoison sauce toward the end of cooking. If you happen to have some on hand I recommend trying a bit- it added the perfect dash of sweet to make a great dish with a complex variety of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
LOVED THIS!!! I just used a bag of stir fry mixed veggies because I wanted more variety. Turned out perfect! I also omitted the cilantro, as I'm not a big fan. This is definitely going into my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was totally awsome! I served this with the Vegetable Lo Mein, fried rice, and the schezwan shrimp recipes from this site. We had a great dinner party. I also has some extra black bean sauce, so I got my butcher to cut me some chinese spare ribs (shortribs cut lengthwise and about 1/4 inch thick) and marinated them in the black bean sauce and BBQ'd them....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Delicious recipe. Very "chinese authentic." Don't add salt while cooking.Soy sauce, black bean sauce and chicken broth are enough salt for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I like it. My son would not eat it. The smell was very strong. I guess from the black bean sauce since I had not used it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Okay, the secret to toning down the saltiness of this dish is to omit the salt, chicken bouillon, and the soy sauce. Then increase the water to 1 cup. Use 1 1/2 Tablespoons (4 1/2 teaspoons) cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup additional water to thicken. Also, stir in 1 teaspoon sugar. Without so much salt, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
only thing missing was the KAPOW!!...Next time I would add some ginger and some red pepper flakes for a little kick..otherwise not a bad recipe...coming from someone who's dad cooked it all the time at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States