Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This dish is delicious! A note for first-time makers: when making the cornstarch & water mixture to thicken the sauce, don't add the cornstarch to HOT water or you will end up with a dish full of glue. Add it to cold water and then stir in to thicken the sauce. This may be common knowledge for some but it wasn't for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Just to say that in Chineese cooking there are two types of soy sauce "light and dark". Both are used to add salt to a dish, but the dark soy also adds colour. There is no need to add extra salt to a chineese dish if you use soy sauce. You are just doubling your salt intake. You can also get low sodium soy sauce to reduce your salt intake even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I have had this dish in many restaurants, and this recipe ranks high on the list! It was very yummy!! I ran into a problem when adding the cornstarch mixture at the end. I added the whole thing at once and my sauce turned into a blobby mush. I just added some water to thin it back out, and it tasted really good. So next time I make it I don’t think I will add the cornstarch or just a little, because the sauce looked perfect before I added it. I will definitely be making this again, and passing on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe turned out waaaaaaaaaaay too salty. I had to use Black Bean with Garlic sauce b/c our store did not carry regular Black Bean sauce. Maybe this was the problem - but 6 tablespoons of that stuff was ALOT. I didn't look at the sodium content before hand and I regretted it - This was almost too salty to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
After reading the reviews. I left out the salt and subbed the bouillon cube for broth. My only other change is that I added shrooms but only because we love them. Very tasty but too salty as written so I am glad I read the reviews and made my changes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly , Black bean sauce is salty and then adding salt and salty chicken bouillon made it inedible. I also found the sauce slimy. Luckily I made fried rice and had spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This tastes just like the one I had in England! So YUMMY! I didn't add the salt. I added water chestnuts, pea pods, and zucchini. I added most of the corn starch mix, but I did it a little at a time. I will be making this again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Fabulous recipe. Served it at an ethnic dinner club and received several thumbs up. Few small adjustments; substituted 1-2 Tbsp HOT black bean sauce for some regular for more spice, used chicken broth vs. bouillon. I found the bean sauce salty so cut out the salt and used light (vs. dark) soy sauce. Not sure exactly where to find or what to do for 'toasted' seasame oil so used regular seasame oil heated in toaster oven. I'm always nervous to make a recipe for the 1st time for a big groug but it worked great & pretty easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It makes way too much sauce. I recommend halving the amount of black bean sauce and leaving out the extra salt. I like to add mushrooms and snow peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Very easy to make and tasted great that night and for left overs the next day. I left out the cilantro (as I hate it) and only used 1 green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States