Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
First time tasting black bean sauce, and found out I'm a big fan. We're big pepper fans in this house, and I could eat chicken for every meal of the day, so I'd say I was bound to love this recipe. The only thing that keeps me from giving this 5 stars, is I think I'll use either light soy sauce or a mixture of light and regular, it was just a tad too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Good recipe! It looks a little intimidating because of all the list of ingredients, but when it comes down to it, it's not difficult at all. I used black pepper sauce (that's what I had at the time) and it ended up being good. It's pretty much the same consistency and similar in taste, I think. I didn't add any salt and I used about half of the soy sauce that the recipe called for. Otherwise it would have been too salty. There's enough flavor in the sauce itself. I also used chicken stock in place of the chicken buillon and added water chestnuts. Tasty and not very hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I found this to be far too salty. Perhaps it is because my black bean sauce was too salty to begin with. But I would advise to not add the extra salt or even use the soya sauce if your sauce was like mine. I also only added as much cornstarch as I felt I needed to. I put in a little at a time and didn't end up using 4 tsps. Any time cornstarch is used, I feel the need to reiterate what another reviewer wrote for novice cooks: it is an absolute MUST that you melt the cornstarch in cold water before adding it slowly to the rest of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe turned out waaaaaaaaaaay too salty. I had to use Black Bean with Garlic sauce b/c our store did not carry regular Black Bean sauce. Maybe this was the problem - but 6 tablespoons of that stuff was ALOT. I didn't look at the sodium content before hand and I regretted it - This was almost too salty to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This had a great flavor. I think the cooking time on the chicken is way to long though. You end up with tough chicken. Either take the chicken out of the pot at some point or take away the 6 minute cooking down of the boulion. Cornstarch not absolutly necessary as the black bean sauce is pretty thick itself. Amount of ingrediants looked a bit long but it wss pretty easy once you get cooking and it really didn't take all that long like someone else had mentioned. Skip the salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I made this exactly as stated and did not like it at all. It was the black bean sauce that I did not care for. My husband ate it and said it was okay but this is something I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bland Huerta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Just to say that in Chineese cooking there are two types of soy sauce "light and dark". Both are used to add salt to a dish, but the dark soy also adds colour. There is no need to add extra salt to a chineese dish if you use soy sauce. You are just doubling your salt intake. You can also get low sodium soy sauce to reduce your salt intake even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Made as written, aside from adding a bit of heat (Sriracha)... super easy to make and tasted awesome ! The chicken was very tender and there was plenty of sauce for the dish. This is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This dish is delicious! A note for first-time makers: when making the cornstarch & water mixture to thicken the sauce, don't add the cornstarch to HOT water or you will end up with a dish full of glue. Add it to cold water and then stir in to thicken the sauce. This may be common knowledge for some but it wasn't for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is delicious. When I am craving Chinese Food I make this up in a hurry. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States