Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It makes way too much sauce. I recommend halving the amount of black bean sauce and leaving out the extra salt. I like to add mushrooms and snow peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm glad that I did not add any salt to this- this is very salty- in the black bean sauce there is a whopping 1120mg of sodium so you can skip the salt and the soya sauce in my opinion. If you don't like salty dishes you won't like this. Also I only used 3 TBSP of the Black Bean sauce and it was just fine- served on a bed of Basmati rice and I used 2 very big chicken breasts and it was good enough. From start to finish it took an hour- its the prep. that took most of the time. Also I only used 1 tbsp of corn starch mixed in with a 1/2 c of hot water- and it concistancy turned out perfect. I'm not sure if I'll make this again- I have alot of black bean sauce left that will most likely sit in the fridge for a long time. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very good. Did not have fresh cilantro but dried worked fine. The sesame oil was fragrant and delicious- it really adds to the taste of the dish! I was almost out of soy sauce, so I also added a tablespoon of hoison sauce toward the end of cooking. If you happen to have some on hand I recommend trying a bit- it added the perfect dash of sweet to make a great dish with a complex variety of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
LOVED THIS!!! I just used a bag of stir fry mixed veggies because I wanted more variety. Turned out perfect! I also omitted the cilantro, as I'm not a big fan. This is definitely going into my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was totally awsome! I served this with the Vegetable Lo Mein, fried rice, and the schezwan shrimp recipes from this site. We had a great dinner party. I also has some extra black bean sauce, so I got my butcher to cut me some chinese spare ribs (shortribs cut lengthwise and about 1/4 inch thick) and marinated them in the black bean sauce and BBQ'd them....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Delicious recipe. Very "chinese authentic." Don't add salt while cooking.Soy sauce, black bean sauce and chicken broth are enough salt for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I like it. My son would not eat it. The smell was very strong. I guess from the black bean sauce since I had not used it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Okay, the secret to toning down the saltiness of this dish is to omit the salt, chicken bouillon, and the soy sauce. Then increase the water to 1 cup. Use 1 1/2 Tablespoons (4 1/2 teaspoons) cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup additional water to thicken. Also, stir in 1 teaspoon sugar. Without so much salt, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
only thing missing was the KAPOW!!...Next time I would add some ginger and some red pepper flakes for a little kick..otherwise not a bad recipe...coming from someone who's dad cooked it all the time at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States