Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was great. Skipped the salt, used low sodium soy sauce and a little chicken broth rather than the bouillon and it was not too salty at all. Added a splash of Sriacha and tons of different veggies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good taste but my family couldn't get past the BLACK color it turned the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The black bean sauce makes it work. I used the jarred black beans to save some time. I omitted the water/bouillon/cornstarch and the soy sauce because black bean sauce is so salty on its own. Add some chili paste for a little kick. Next time I may add a small dash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I've wanted to use black bean sauce for quite some time now, so I decided to give it a try starting with this dish. Holy salt! I did read the reviews and didn't add any salt, and I used chicken broth instead of bullion and it was still WAY TO SALTY! In light, I was able to add about 3/4 cup of water and it ended up being right where it should be. Edible, but scary at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This really shocks me that so many people rated it so highly. I am completely disappointed. First off, following other commenter's advice, I cut down to add no salt to this, and reduced the 6 tablespoons to 3, and cut on the soy sauce. It was still too salty. I'm suspecting that might have been a typo, and in fact it should be 6 teaspoons, or 2 table spoons (again, with no salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Fantastic!!!! I didn't add the salt, used chicken soup base instead of the bouillon, and used green and orange peppers. I used low-sodium soy sauce, instead of regular, to cut the saltiness. My husband doesn't like cilantro, so I cut the amount in half....still tasted great! I served it with brown rice. I will make this again.... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
After reading the reviews. I left out the salt and subbed the bouillon cube for broth. My only other change is that I added shrooms but only because we love them. Very tasty but too salty as written so I am glad I read the reviews and made my changes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very simple to make & very tasty. I marinated the chicken in the black bean sauce & garlic before stirfrying the chicken in the sesame oil. The black bean sauce is pretty salty...I didn't need to add any additional salt, or the soy sauce. I did add some pre-sauted mushrooms & zucchini, as well as some black bean tofu, which really worked in this dish. Didn't need to do the cornstarch...the sauce was thick enough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly , Black bean sauce is salty and then adding salt and salty chicken bouillon made it inedible. I also found the sauce slimy. Luckily I made fried rice and had spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I really enjoyed this! I love black bean sauce. I did add water chestnuts. It was great! Hubby liked it too. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States