Chicken with Grape Tomatoes and Fried Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I really enjoyed this dish. I left out the wine, used bone-in chicken thighs, marinated them for about an hour, and cooked them in a pressure cooker. Very tasty. The fried basil is a brilliant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I added garlic, mint and some balsamic ginger vinegar coated the chicken breasts lightly with some rosemary olive oil and what a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this tonight and we really liked it. I did not have any bone-in chicken, so used boneless chicken breast and reduced the cooking time. I halved the recipe and left out the bay leaf. I used cherry and mini pear tomatoes from the garden, and used slightly less wine (Riesling) and balsamic vinegar. I also added some chopped onion and garlic to the sauce, and fried sage along with the basil. For those who do not care for the fried basil, try frying sage. It is delicious and tastes great in this dish. We ate this with Jasmine rice and home baked bread. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I used this recipe with boneless chicken breasts and I didn't have fresh basil at home BUT it still came out delicious . . . chicken was very tender and juicy, and the sauce tasted great! Thanks for a quick, easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is a keeper. It's quick and easy. I had never heard of frying basil and am so glad I came across this "foodie" tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was delicious! Followed recipe except used dried basil. Love how simple this is. And such a great way to use up grape tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this last night and didn't have a few ingredients, so I left out the fresh basil and used V8 golden butternut squash soup instead of chicken broth. I have no idea how the original recipe would taste in comparison, but this version was really yummy. I will have to make it the original way next time just to see! But making it with the butternut squash soup gets you some veggies too! I also used about half the amount of oil that the original recipe called for and served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cosmokitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Easy but just average, nothing to blow my hair back or give me a reason to make it again, but decent enough to try it, the fried basil thing is what caught me, though the process was inspiring, it really lacked that fresh basil flavor after being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I cannot imagine why anyone would rate this as bland. I forgot the fresh basil ( even though I had it in my garden). It was just delicious. Put marinade in the baking chicken topped with sauted basil and tomatoes then fresh mozarella,perfectly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
First of all, we really liked it. I did use 1/2 cup of basil, and we loved that. I fried it just a minute or so and it was crispy, I also added about three cloves of freshly minced garlic just before I added the wine and broth. But I never know what kind of wine to use, I used Fetzer Chardonnay. But, here we go. I don't know if my Chicken breasts are always too large. It said to cook till chicken is done and sauce is reduced. How reduced should it be? If it is covered the sauce isn't going to reduce very much. So mine didn't reduce much . I did simmer the for about 35 minutes That is OK, I added a little of Wondra with some leftover Chicken broth that was left in the can to thicken a little. Not much... But the directions were not good at that point. I usually don't alter a recipe at all, but.... Cherry tomatoes were 3.99 for a pint, that is more than my chicken cost on sale. (I was lucky and believe this or not, I paid only .79 a pound for split chicken breasts with the bone, 12/5/2009) So I used a can of diced tomatoes, very well drained and put on paper towels to drain them more. I put them with the chicken and sauce and turned off the heat. They were still heated through.We loved the end result. I really didn't alter the recipe that much and am happy to know I could use the canned tomatoes, altho I think I would prefer the cherry, if I had them Four stars because they really don't tell you how much to reduce the sauce. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States