Chicken with Ginger Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I loved this! Cooking for one I used 1 chicken breast and halved the sauce, but I would have been happy with more! A few notes - I put about a teaspoon of salt in the poaching water, and then half a tsp into the sauce. (double those amounts if making the whole recipe). Don't put all of the salt into the sauce! This is not a real pesto, but that's OK! She says it's a variation on a Chinese dish, not an Italian dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Way too salty and oily. As another member suggested, I think maybe it could be thinned out with some lemon juice and more green onions added. Less oil, less salt and maybe it would be good but then it wouldn't be the same recipe, which would be fine with me. I won't cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! The garlic sort of caramelizes and adds this delicious little crunch to the chicken. I will likely double the sauce next time - we all craved more garlic and onion to add to each morsel of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I loved this. the "pesto" was so delicious, that even though I made double the sauce, my husband and I still wanted more! It was just the right about of sweet and savory. Of course, I read the reviews prior to making it and cut the salt way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah ramage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is NOT a pesto. This recipe is at a good start however needs a fair amount of changes and additions. Suggestions - Don't skimp on the green onions, shortly after adding green onions add 1-2T of lemon juice (this will add a little zest and freshness to the taste). As other reviewers have written... 1t. of salt is definitely enough. Lastly, ginger burns easily, so be careful because that can definitely make or break the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very yummy. Followed recipe exactly except only used 1 tsp salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
1 Tbl. salt is a bit much for the onion mixture. I think most of that is meant to go in the poaching bath so take note! I only used a dash and it was adequate. Very tasty! I also doubled the onion/garlic/ginger sauce mix as we wanted more :) I also substituted for part of the oil unrefined coconut oil used for cooking that, unlike the refined, has a faint flavor of coconut. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I think the salt amount was a typo. The salt was overpowering and almost made it inedible. However, my family agreed that this would probably have been delicious if the salt had been reduced to about 1/2 tsp, so I'm giving it 4 stars with the hope that it can be salvaged just by that one change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
EXCELLENT! I prepared it just as stated and it was not only tasty, but beautiful as well. I will next serve this for some company I'm expecting this weekend. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States