Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Good recipe. Had to jazz it up a bit - for extra flavor. A lot of people mentioned that the dish was too spicy, and suggested reducing the amount of jalapeno pepper by 1/4 cup. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 cup of jalapeno pepper and it turned out just fine (very mild). If you remove the membrane from the pepper, you also remove some of the heat (the spiciness is contained in the membranes and seeds), so maybe other reviewers who complained about the heat didn't do that (?). I added some chopped (peeled) Granny Smith apple to the dish (it needed a sweet boost), but golden raisins would have worked just as well. I also used a yellow onion in lieu of the green onion called for (much cheaper and a more common ingredient in the dishes that I routinely prepare). Last, I added cinnamon to the skillet (when adding the ginger). Just eyeball it (black pepper too). Used ground ginger (about 1/2 teaspoon in place of fresh ginger) with great results. This dish goes well with warm pita bread spread with hummus. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Super very easy, quick and delicious. I have to tinker with every recipe a little bit, i just have to make it mine,. I am not realy fond of the flavor of Jalapenos but i do love heat so instead I used cayenne pepper. My family gobbled this so fast. Not one complaint not even from my daughter who doesn't like spicy food. There is so much flavor that the first thing you notice about this si not the heat. I will make a gain and again for sure. Great for pot luck suppers too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
After adding the 1/2 cp of jalapenos I took a taste before serving to my finicky mother and whoa--it was way too spicy (and I like spicy food)! I laboriously picked out as many little slices of jalapeno as I could. After that, it was very good...I added mushrooms as well. My mother positively commented on the hint of spice to the dish and I said I added a "pinch" of jalapenos. It was also her first time trying couscous--I used Near East's Sun Dried Tomato--it went very well. Also, I've stopped using cornstarch or flour as thickener in meat or soup recipies--instant mashed potatoes work great; no one needs to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Wow! I just finished making this recipe for the third time and it is fantastic! This is one of my favorite meals. Like another reviewer, I use a large Anaheim pepper because I don't care for very spicy foods. I love to play around with different veggies - broccoli and bell peppers work great! I also use regular yellow onioninstead of green onions and add a bit of garlic, as well. Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great flavor-per-amount-of-prep-time dish! I will include this as one of the top meals I prepare on a regular cycle because of its simplicity, flavor and it's unique to most other dishes I quickly throw together. I was worried for a bit about it being a bit too spicy because of other reviews, but it turned out to be fairly mild in heat (I like hot food). A quick note: I recommend increasing serving size if you are actually serving four. I used 6 breasts and increased the other ingredients accordingly to feed three of my friends and myself (mind you, all male grad students). Also, a pinch of salt helped the flavor pop. Great dish, I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Decent enough, but 1/2 cup jalapeno is too much. I like spicy food but the recipe as listed simply tastes of jalapeno and curry; all other flavors disappear beneath this assault. When I pushed some of the jalapenos to the side -their juice still diffused throughout the dish- I tasted a much more complex (and more mediterranean) flavor. On the hope the dish is this flavor throughout when using fewer jalapenos I'm giving the recipe four stars. (It'd be three otherwise.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Very good! Spicey. I would cut back on the peppers but beside that very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
After reading some other reviews I was concerned it would be too spicy for our family so I replaced the jalapenos with some mild green chiles. It turned out very well but I will make it a little spicier next time. I also didn't use a low-sodium chicken broth which may have made it a little too salty. Family really liked it. I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Wow!!! This was outstanding! My husband raved about it many times. The diced jalepenos I used came from a jar labled "hot", so I only used 1/4 cup, which was perfect for us. Thanks so much for this recipe--it will be used many times in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Watch out!!! Way too hot for my taste but hubby loved it. If it weren't for the peppers this would be a great dish. Next time I'll leave out the peppers and serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States