Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this. I altered the recipe slightly (can't help fiddling!) and didn't measure, exactly, the spices... It was a tad spicy in places, but very enjoyable all the same. I will be making this again. I'm glad of the recipe, as I wouldn't have thought to use those spices together on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Good recipe. Had to jazz it up a bit - for extra flavor. A lot of people mentioned that the dish was too spicy, and suggested reducing the amount of jalapeno pepper by 1/4 cup. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 cup of jalapeno pepper and it turned out just fine (very mild). If you remove the membrane from the pepper, you also remove some of the heat (the spiciness is contained in the membranes and seeds), so maybe other reviewers who complained about the heat didn't do that (?). I added some chopped (peeled) Granny Smith apple to the dish (it needed a sweet boost), but golden raisins would have worked just as well. I also used a yellow onion in lieu of the green onion called for (much cheaper and a more common ingredient in the dishes that I routinely prepare). Last, I added cinnamon to the skillet (when adding the ginger). Just eyeball it (black pepper too). Used ground ginger (about 1/2 teaspoon in place of fresh ginger) with great results. This dish goes well with warm pita bread spread with hummus. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a great recipe. I followed it to the letter except I added a pinch more cornstarch to thicken the sauce more. I found the jalepenos to be the perfect amount. I made sure to remove all the seeds and pulp completely, then chopped the peppers finely and it was not at all overwhelming. My husband raved about this dish. (I have a five year old so I removed some of the cooked chicken and couscous before I mixed everything together and made him some veggies on the side - he doesn't do spicy). I would definitely make this again, although next time I might try powdered ginger since grating the ginger was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
My husband and I both liked this. I used Anaheim peppers since several reviews said it was too spicy. I also added extra veggies, because I felt it was too much chicken. One thing I would change, though, would be to all garlic/salt (it was a little bland as stated on the recipe), and cook the cous cous less time. It "congealed" a little and I had to break it up. Otherwise, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie and Rich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Pretty good! I halved the recipe, but only used one chicken breast and I cubed it. It has a spicy curry flare, I probably should have added golden raisins and yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
It was very good... but cook the couscous less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
It was a good recipe, quick and easy. It definitely tasted better the next day as curries tend to do! I also added red capsicum and a little more cornstarch. Blended fresh coriander and toasted pinenuts through the cous cous. Not sure about the Mexican/Indian/Morrocan take on this. I'd put it on rice next time. Thanks for your yummy recpe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe. For some of the reviewers that found it bland - I wonder if you used 4 chicken breasts instead of 4 chicken breast *halves* i.e two breast. That's how I made it and found it to be delicious. Also, the jalapeno - yikes use conservatively. I can eat spicy food but a quarter cup was too much for me. Next time I'll use only a couple of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Decent enough, but 1/2 cup jalapeno is too much. I like spicy food but the recipe as listed simply tastes of jalapeno and curry; all other flavors disappear beneath this assault. When I pushed some of the jalapenos to the side -their juice still diffused throughout the dish- I tasted a much more complex (and more mediterranean) flavor. On the hope the dish is this flavor throughout when using fewer jalapenos I'm giving the recipe four stars. (It'd be three otherwise.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States