Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this recipe thinking i had everything just to realize I was out of ginger so I used garlic powder and cinnamon instead, it turned out beautifully! Also added some currant and pine nuts to my couscous for extra flavour and texture! Great Recipe!! I will definitely make it alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I loved this dish! It will become a regular at my home. All the spices blended nicely together. It did take me a little longer to make than the directions, but I may have cooked the chicken and vegetables longer than specified. This also may have helped the spices blend a little better than for other people. I love spicy food and I thought this dish had the perfect amount of spice. I used two large jalapeños with the seeds removed. Like many other reviewers, I added and changed up the recipe a little. I used 1/2 a yellow onion instead of the green onions (I already had the onion)added 1/2 a bell pepper and 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic. I cooked the garlic with the chicken and pepper. Finally, I used whole wheat couscous to make this dish even healthier. I really enjoyed this recipe and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inola, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This dish was ok, but not great. I read a lot of the reviews before making it and decided not to change anything as I like spicy foods. I used 3 jalapenos (about 1/2 c.), removing the seeds and membranes, and found the amount of kick was just right for me. Probably would be a bit too spicy for some. Anyway, although the dish is perfectly edible, I agree with some other reviews that it's definitely lacking something. I can't figure out what is missing either, but it makes the dish simply unremarkable. Maybe it needs more or different spices? Maybe a different meat? I'll finish it off, but I wouldn't waste time making it again, especially considering all the dicing involved. I think this dish has potential, but it'll take a better cook than me to discover the missing ingredient(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Healthy and delicious. Next time we'll live out the coriander, but it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
How disappointing! My husband & I were really looking forward to this dish. It was surprisingly bland. We even thought we'd take the chance and put all of the jalapenos in that the recipe called for even though other reviewers warned against. In the end it was just ok, but nothing special. Actually, the dish wasn't spicy at all. I guess it's because I was careful not to let any seeds or membrane (the spicy parts) fall in when I was chopping. We felt that the recipe was missing something very important, we just couldn't figure out what it was. We decided that this dish was not worth tweaking. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this last Wednesday and it was so good! My boyfriend is still raving about it. I did make a few changes. I got garlic and olive oil coucous at the store. It turned out really good. I left out the carrots and added bell peppers and golden raisins. I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Excellent taste! Love all the spices that go into this recipe. I did not have coriander seed and substituted it with just ground coriander. Worked just fine! I was in a hurry when making this and did not measure anything at all. Just go by feel! All the ingredients go very well together, it does not matter if the measurements are not exactly what is stated. I added red pepper for extra color. Taste great. Next time I will experiment with other vegetables. Another reviewer said other vegetables work too. All in all a superb recipe. Very flexible which allows one to be creative and the results are just as awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Good. A little too spicy with the jalepeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I thought it was great and will definitely make it again soon. I didn't have a few of the things so I had to substitute green onions for a yellow one, jalepeno peppers for little red chilis, and corriander seeds for fresh cilantro - still came out tasty with a good amount of spice. We don't often have couscous and so it was a nice change, and my 1.5 year old loved it (not the vegetables as much but that's just the stage she's at).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alpkuchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is very good. I used .5 tsp of ground ginger and a yellow onion instead of green. I also added an extra zucchini. Very simple and tasty. I had just under half a cup of jalapeno and I didn't find it quite spicy enough so I will use the entire half cup in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States