Chicken with Chipotle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
DO NOT DO WHAT I DID! I bought a small 7 oz can of Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce. When I opened the can, the peppers were chopped. The back of the can said "Serving size 3 peppers in adobo sauce". I thought "I like spicy - what's one more pepper". My sauce came out RED, not a creamy sauce like I saw in the picture. Then I pulled the can out of the trash and read further "6 servings". That means I had the equivalent of 18 peppers!! Whoo! Talk about spicy! I was able to take 1/9th and add some milk and sour cream, and it came out pretty good! (Now I just have to fix this 8 more times to use up the rest LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Awesome recipe! I browned boneless, skinless chicken breasts and then added the sauce to finish cooking them. I used one chicken bouillion cube, lite sour cream and only one cup of milk but upped the number of chipotles to 5 for a nice "kick". Also, thickened the sauce a bit toward the end of cooking with a bit of flour and water. I would have liked leftovers but my husband, daugher and I ate every last bite. Easy, light and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was so good! I have the answer to the heat problem. Chipotle peppers don't always have the same amount of seeds in them, which is where the heat is. If you control the amount of seeds that go into your sauce, you control the amount of heat. I like to use a lot of peppers, for the flavor, so I try to get rid of most of the seeds so it's not way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe was simple, quick, and super tasty. I made changes according to my ingredients on hand: used lo-fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream, boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 8 halves)instead of leg quarters, extra adobo (yum), and forgot the margarine completely. Instead of roasting the chicken, I cut the breasts into 1 inch pieces and browned them on the stovetop in a bit of olive oil. From then I followed the recipe instructions & served on brown rice. Really flavorful, healthy, AND it couldn't be simpler! Thanks so much for the recipe, Guera!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GUERAGUERRERO
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
The original way of this recipe is boiling the chicken but doing it in the oven is faster and taste better!! You should try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUERAGUERRERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is absolutely delicious! I cook a lot of Mexican food and this is one of the best. I used chicken breasts, browned them in butter and olive oil. I added a clove of garlic to the sauce. Those chipotles are HOT! I make salsa with jalepenos and habeneros and this was really hot. I was surprised and pleased. I cut the recipe down to 2 servings and wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Literally my boyfriends favorite meal, I'm asked to make this at least twice a month. I usually pull the skin off the chicken before throwing it in with the sauce. Also, I'll sometimes use shredded chicken breasts mixed with this sauce in taco shells with some fresh cilantro, salsa, sour cream, and cheese for a fantastic taco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I don't know how anyone could say this recipe has no flavor........this is a fantastic recipe. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow! I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing. Since we like a little more heat in our dishes i added two more chipotles and it was perfect! I also tried this sauce with shrimp...goodness..it was heavenly. I cleaned a pound of shrimp and took the shells off. I then sauteed the shrimp in a little butter for about four min and then threw the chipotle sauce in and let it simmer for another four min. We ate this over rice and it was so yummy! Im super excited to try this sauce with other proteins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This sauce is great! This was my first time using chipotle in adobo. I only used one and froze the rest individually on a cookie sheet. We love it and we will be using this very versatile sauce with a variety of meats and starches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States