Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Really, really good. I leave the step out where you remove the chicken to a cutting board and drain liquid. I just lift the chicken up a little after browning and throw the garlic cloves in. This smells wonderful while it is cooking. I make this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
SO so so so GOOD! Loved this! This recipe was suggested to me and I adapted it for drumsticks. I did it just as the recipe calls for and it was delicious! I had the table all set, platter fixed just right so I could add my photo BUT I went to get the camera and by the time I got back to the kitchen the hubs had already filled everyones plates! Arghhhhhhh! LOL there went my perfect shot. Thankfully I will make again and get my pic up there too!-*-*-* Made this AGAIN, for my brother cuz it was THAT good! Got a pic this time.... also again, adapter for drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was really good and very easy. Next time, I will really drain most of the oily base (as prescribed), and make sure that the seasonings are evenly spread over the chicken. I cooked two 5-pound birds at 375 degrees convection and they were done in less than 90 minutes. Garlic was mellow and fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very flavorable. The smell was terrific while it was cooking. I only had about 10 cloves of garlic and did not realize it until prep time, but the chicken did not seem to suffer as far as flavor goes! Will make again, but next time, I will just put in already cut up chicken pieces as this was a lot of work and I have never cut up a chicken before and some went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Good! Instead of adding water, I squeezed a whole lemon over the chicken and put the rinds into the chicken cavity. Had to uncover the pan and cook a bit longer than 90 minutes. Forgot the thyme. Pre-browning makes chicken look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I received a dutch oven for Christmas (thanks mom!) and this recipe turned out wonderfully in it. I used about 30 cloves of garlic, minced. After browning the bird, I tossed in the garlic, returned the bird to the pan, then added halved white potatoes, a yellow onion quartered, and two carrots cut into large pieces. I then added the remaining ingrediants for the original recipe, topped the pot with the lid and put into the preheated oven. This chicken as small, so it cooked in about an hour, and the aroma that filled the house was amazing. I let the bird rest for ten or so minutes before removing from the pan. I put the veggies in another bowl to serve alongside, and to make a quick gravy, added a can of campbell's wild mushroom condensed soup mix to the butter/garlic/olive oil drippings. My husband loved the meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! I did 2 chickens cut up. I added 1 1/2 cups Pinot, 4Tbsps honey, fresh thyme, rosemary, olive oil and 40 cloves of garlic. I put a garlic clove under the skin of each chicken piece. This was out of this world. Try it you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The first time I made this, even with all the garlic, the chicken hadn't picked up much flavor. I made it a second time, rubbing the chicken with more herbs and such. Then, after it was baked, pulled out the garlic to puree together with just a touch of melted butter - to poor over everything. Amazing. And perfect to sop up with a big fluffy roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I found this similar recipe on the garlic bag. It used only olive oil, 1/4 cup. It included also, 1/2 cup white wine, 1/4 cup dry vermouth, juice of one lemon, 1 tsp of dried oregano, and minced fresh parsley. After putting all the ingredients on the chicken, place in a covered roasting pan 40 minutes on 400, then uncovered for another 30 to 35 minutes, and it was delicious. Thanks for providing this recipe, and I hope you try it with the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yum! Used cut up chicken for convenience and chicken stock for the baking liquid which I then thickened at the end to make a velvety sauce to coat the chicken. This is easy, inexpensive, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States