Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
not that great. Surprisingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Outstanding kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
So flavorful! I didn't have the patience to properly brown the chicken on all sides, and I forgot to remove the juices from the Dutch Oven prior to adding the garlic, but this was super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Personally I prefer to lightly coat the chicken in a bit of flour before browning it. Also include 1-3 stalks of celery (depending on how large/intense the flavor), prefer rosemary with chicken, but thyme is fine; add a good sized splash of cooking sherry, use chicken broth instead of water, and well, we prefer to serve this dish with pan-toasted slices of French or Italian bread rather than the rolls one pinner enjoys - - - the garlic spreads so well and meshes so well with toasted sliced crusty loaf types of bread....... yum!...... We've *never* been low on flavor, though, in our estimation, the flavor of the garlic is best used on the bread..., and no, it is not intense garlic in the chicken - just great eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this recipe for my family I served it over a bed of creamy rissoto. Although I did not make it exactly to specification I did not stray far from the original recipe. I seasoned the chicken prior to searing and instead of using 1/4 cup water I substituted with almost 1 cup of good Chardonnay wine. I also added the zest of the lemon with the thyme on top of the chicken. This was a superb recipe. You can never go wrong with the combination of lemon, chicken, butter, and garlic. I fell my addition of the wine added another dimension of flavor to this already wonderful idea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Of The Future
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent. Only hard part was turning the whole chicken. Served it with roasted brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made it exactly as instructed - cut the 40 garlic cloves up a bit. So juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is delicious!! Five stars from everyone in the family. And that can be a picky bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow, roasted garlic and super moist chicken. This was very yummy. I had this recipe recommended looking for recipes to use up a 1.5 lb bag of peeled garlic. No way, I would have sat and peeled that much garlic. It almost got my bag to half. If making this recipe that is the way to go. The bag is between $2-$3 dollars at a whole sale club. When the recipe says to remove part of the cooking fat make sure to do that. The garlic produces plenty of liquid as it cooks down. I had my chicken in the oven 90 minutes, but it got left another 30 minutes due to being busy. The one I used was around a med-lg size. After I took the foil off I thought the skin needed some crisping. I set the oven to 420 and put it back in the oven uncovered about 15 more minutes. I planned to take a pic but when I lifted it all of the meat fell right of the bone. For some that is a problem, for me that equals super moist chicken. I think this will make good sandwiches with a piece of chicken and some of the smeared roasted garlic. It was tasty too. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The first time I made this I was disappointed with the lack of flavor. The next time I crushed 10 of the garlic cloves and that added a lot more flavor, also used chicken stock and wine for the liquid. Yummy! Now I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Rikhus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waubun, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ulen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States