Chicken or Turkey Tetrazzini Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
O.K. here is my take! Left out the peppers because neither my husband or I like them and substituted celery instead. Did cut the recipe in half and still had left-overs! Substituted white wine for the sherry and did not use any water at all. I also used egg noodles and added some linguine to make up my shortfall. The end result was "spectacular" and my husband said it was a super recipe and please, please, make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I didn't read the reviews before making this recipe first. I didn't pay attention to how much it made. We have tons of leftovers! I ended up using wide egg noodles as I had them on hand. I didn't add the additional 2 cups of water because the chicken broth was already watery enough. It makes me wonder if the gal who posted this recipe intended to put chicken broth granuals or something for all the water that it calls for. Anyway, I omitted it on my own. I suggest using less sherry. I used Marsala wine and it gave was too much flavor. I can imagine the same would happen with cooking sherry. And we omitted the peppers as my husband hates them. Overall, we'll have it again. But will cut the recipe in 1/2, use little or no wine/sherry, no additional water after the broth, and will leave out the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I am glad I read the reviews on this first and realized that the recipe was for 12 people. I shortened it to 6 and it was wonderful. Everyone had seconds!! The only thing I did different is cut the water down to 8oz . The first time I made it, it was a little watery. I would definately recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was great! Here are the changes I made: Cream of Celery soup (instead of mushroom); left out all water as others suggested; boiled noodles in turkey broth (boiled turkey bones from Thanksgiving and froze broth) and used this broth in recipe; instead of plain salt and pepper, added Creole seasoning (seasoned salt); left out sherry; added bread crumbs to top. This had a real depth of flavor, probably because the noodles were boiled in broth. Will definitely keep (the modified version of) this recipe in my "favorites" cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was really good. I liked it and so did my husband. Although, instead of chopping up veggies, I made it easier by using pre-sliced mushrooms and frozen veggies instead of the green pepper. I also mixed dry bread crumbs and butter and put it on top before I put it into the oven. This really made it good! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This is sooo good. I made slight modifications due to the ingredients I had at home. I did not use mushrooms or peas. I used Vidalia sweet onion instead of green onions. I used a red bell pepper instead of green. That added nice color to the finished product. We had muscadine red wine, so I used that instead of the sherry. Also before I found the worstershire sauce, I added a splash of soy sauce. Once I found the worstershire sauce, I added about a tablespoon of that. Oh, one more change. Instead of adding water, I used a whole can of chicken broth. Superb! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We have removed the water which was incorrectly added to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thanks to earlier reviews, I used one cup of cut scallions (rather than a yellow or white onion), and a red pepper (rather than a green one). I also used one can cream of mushroom soup and one can cream of celery soup. I used 2 tblsp. olive oil and 1 tbsp. butter to sautee the mushrooms, onion, and pepper in, and it was plenty (you don't need all that butter). The dish was coming along just great until I added the chicken broth. It diluted the flavors to the point where I had to add more soup! Definitely avoid adding liquid to this dish. The soups will carry it just fine. I also used low fat cheddar cheese and about 1/4 c. dry sherry. Next time I make this, I'll probably make my own "soups" to bring the calorie, fat, and sodium counts down. The celery adds a nice flavor though, so if you stay with the recipe as it is (sans liquid) I recommend replacing one can of the mushroom soup with a can of celery soup. The scallions and red pepper also add a unique touch that I prefer over onions and green pepper. This recipe points you in a good direction, but it needs refining to make it "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good. I substituted white wine for the sherry and used red pepper instead of green. I also left out the Worcestershire. Looked very nice but best of all tasted very good. I halved the recipe and it made a little over 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe. Creamy and cheesy without being heavy thanks to the broth and creamed soup combo. Adding the peas and green peppers make it a great one dish dinner. I added a few tablespoons of the sherry that was the only adjustment. It gets rave reviews from my place. Keeps well in the refrigerator and we didn't mind eating it later on in the week at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States