Chicken or Turkey Tetrazzini Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
TOO MUCH LIQUID. I think there is an error in the recipe. There is no way it calls for 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 cans of CCOM soup and 2 cups of water. This is a huge portion and the picture obviously shows egg white noodles and the recipe called for linguine pasta. Didn't taste good due to the water factor. Very upset I wasted my time and my money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie
Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Chicken Tetrazzini Deluxe Haiku: "Boy, was I surprised. I had low expectations. But this was awesome!" Definitely not gourmet fare, but for creamy, easy comfort food with a light brush of flavor, this was much better than I'd anticipated. Imagine my surprise to note when I put it in the oven that I'd forgotten to mix in the cheddar cheese, and we didn't miss it one bit. (I also included several minced garlic cloves to the saute.) As we shoveled mouthfuls, we decided that if I made it again, I'd add chopped broccoli, and swap the green bell for red. Oh and as written, it's obvious that it makes a ton, so I scaled it to 4 servings, which was the perfect amount - I'd prepared it a day ahead and it made coming home from work a cinch b/c all I had to do was add the parmesan and paprika and throw it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a delicious recipe that I made today so that I would have food for the next several days. We'll see if it lasts that long but as you have read in other reviews each of us have done something different. As everyone else has confirmed don't add the 2 cans of water because it will be a very soupy. The chicken broth will make it a little soupy and willbe soaked up into the pasta. If you are watching the sodium intake in the recipe then you might not want to add the extra salt that is recommended because you are using the cream soups. If you are accustomed to using cream soups you already know that there is quite a bit of salt. I did add extra pepper to this and instead of using bell peppers I used a tomato that I sautéed by itself with rosemary and dill. I may experiment next time with the bell pepper. The peas can be replaced with broccoli because you already have a lot starches with the pasta. I didn't use the sherry as I don't keep any alcohol in the house with the exception of a rare wine. You can cut back quite a bit on the butter and or just use some olive oil. As suggested in a previous review break the pasta in half and if you feel the need to then cut the recipe in half. It does make a lot. When you buy the fresh mushrooms (fresh is always best) a pund should do it. The cheese is not a have to unless you absolutely love cheese and the parmessan should be shredded or fresh. If you like your food extremely hot and spicy add the some hot peppers. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought this was a wonderful way to use our leftover turkey dark meat (no one in my family likes it.) I had read the other reviews and so I (of course) made a couple of adjustments. First, I left out the bell peppers. I added the sherry immediately after sauteeing the mushrooms and onions together. I used a really nice dry Amontillado and adding it to the hot pan cooked out all the alcohol, leaving only the flavor. I thought the sherry complimented the Parmesan cheese PERFECTLY. I also only used one can of cream-of-mushroom soup and a whole can of chicken broth-cutting out the rest of the liquid. I added a large, drained jar of diced pimentos when I added the peas to the sauce and topped off the casserole with crushed herb crackers and Parmesan cheese. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOITX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Tastes great I swear I have enough for 25 people! Well, it's certainly got everything in it you could want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good. Leftovers even better. The only thing I didn't have on hand was the cooking sherry. I used chicken for this recipe. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very nice flavor. Worth the extra effort. There was a little too much liquid in the recipe as written; next time I will eliminate the 2 cans of water. Someone said to skip the sherry...don't do it. The sherry adds a nice extra depth of flavor. Big time kid pleaser too! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very good - I wouldn't exactly call it tetrazzini as it wasn't very creamy but it was a very good casserole. We used whole wheat pasta and extra peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this with turkey leftovers and it was fantastic! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Terrific recipe for all the Turkey we have leftover from Thanksgiving. I did everything exactly as the recipe stated and it came out really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States