Chicken on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This tasted great and simple. I think my daughter just likes skewers but she happily ate her Chicken on a Stick without any problems. I cooked in the oven because I really didn't want to get the grill out. Also, I added some green peppers and red onions on the skewers. Served with "Dill, Feta and Garlic Cream Cheese Spread" with Italian Bread, "Sugar Snap Peas," and "Country Green Beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very simple and delicious. I used chicken tenderloins and used wooden skewers. It started raining so I baked them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Outstanding flavor and tender. I cut the boneless chicken breasts in medium sized pieces and marinated for 3 hours. I also added to the dressing, worchester sauce, soy sauce and lemon pepper marinade per the recommendation of another reviewer. Adding pinapple chunks along with red and green bell pepper and onion really rounds out this dish. Only change I would make is to use less meat tenderizer (to much salt). I served this with a fruit salad and french bread. After one bite, my husband confirmed this one is a keeper. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was an excellent recipe and VERY easy to prepare. I didn't use the tenderizer, opting for the addition of worcester sauce, soy sauce and lemon pepper(thanks to another reviewer).I added green pepper and onion to the kebob and kept the all pieces close to the same size size. The whole family raved about it and it'll be great for company(everything can be prepared ahead of time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Goodness gracious, this was juicy and tasty! I cut boneless chicken breasts into 3 pieces each to make them easier to cook on the grill. Then, I followed the advice of the other reviewers and added a splash of soy sauce and a splash of worcestershire and a shake of lemon pepper to the recipe and marinated the chicken for about 3 hours. Then, I threw a handful of hickory chips on the gas grill and cooked the chicken on metal skewers along with some mushrooms. I started the grill on medium, but quickly turned the heat down to low to keep the chicken from burning. It took about 5-7 minutes a side to get done. The smell while cooking was unbelievably appetizing, but the taste was even better! You gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Delicious stuff. I did trim the tendon or whatever that chewy white stuff is in the center of the breast out. It was just super easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I prepared this recipe exactly as the directions said - I did not make any changes or substitutions. My 9 year old daughter loved it and she is a very picky eater. I also enjoyed this dish. The chicken was very tender and tasty. I marinated the chicken for about two hours and I added green peppers and onion to my kabob, although my daughter had only the chicken on her kabob. It was very good! Will definitely make this one again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was fantastic! I threw in about 5 cloves of crushed garlic into the marinade with the chicken. I also sautéd large chunks of onion before adding them to the skewers along with chunks of pineapple, bell pepper, and of course the chicken. I don't have access to a grill so I used the broiler setting in my oven, and used the pans that come with ovens and that served as my "grill." This was a great recipe! I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Follow the recipe, but go a little further & add either some Fresh or canned chunks of Pineapple. You can also add some grape Tomato's & you can wrap your chicken pieces in Bacon! This is a Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Forget the tenderizer ! Been using the Wishbone Robust Italian to marinate chicken kabobs, chicken and sirloin on the grill for years..usually marinate for at least 6 hrs or over night..use more than 1/2 cup.. *everyone* loves the meat..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States