Chicken in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This recipe is almost exact to the recipe I have tried from dLife, but that they use low sodium chicken broth and 2 tbsp fresh oregano, or you can use 1/2 tsp. dried as mentioned in this recipe. Instead of skinless chicken breasts I used skinless chicken thighs with bone in as I find them alot more tastier. I would double up on the recipe because there is never enough as it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I love this dish - I can remember this from when I was a kid. The seasonings were a bit different, and the method.. pretty much the same except it was made in a large cast iron skillet, we didnt remove the chicken and at the end we'd pop the skillet in the oven with some swiss or cheddar or whatever was on hand and bake until the cheese was melted - which seemed like an eternity when you're a kid, but was probably 5 minutes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
OH, I LOVED THIS! I have never cooked with tomato paste because it gives my dad heart burn, so I was afraid that it would cause us to suffer, but no. This is so good and so easy. I added tomato puree since everyone said it needed more sauce. I served it over rice. The only bad thing I can say is that my husband dumped the sauce so none for left-overs. :( Made some really quick with the left-over ingredients I had and then there were no left-overs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Really good. My kids loved it, but made some changes. I read others who said double the sauce....well, that still didn't look like much for rice, so I dumped the rest of the paste in and poured more broth until I got the right consistency I was looking for. Great flavors! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I followed Elizabeth's suggestions to increase the sauce and spices - however, 5 cups of chicken broth is WAY too much. I ended up straining and tossing a lot of it. Use 3 cups chicken broth, max, and 12 oz. of tomato paste for a thicker sauce. Serve over rice or pasta and enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good...but it's missing something...I upped the garlic and added crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband and I love this dish. I omit the mushrooms and put a piece of mozzarella on my husband's chicken towards the end. I serve over parmesan Pasta-Roni and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was very tasty. It actually reminded me of pizza for some odd reason. The only thing that was a little weird was the breading on the chicken. By leaving the chicken in with the sauce, it just getts soggy like other reviewers said. I think next time I may take it out when it is crispy and then do the sauce and pour over the chicken just before serving. Still a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a nice change of pace for chicken. Easy to make and family enjoyed it. I'll prob make this again to switch things up. I served with rice and doubled the sauce like everyone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This dish tasted good; it's basically chicken parmesan without the cheese. I liked it but for some reason I thought it was going to be something different. Maybe I didn't read the ingredients carefully. I served it with noodles and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States